Clinical Guidelines Committee

The College appoints CGC committee members for one-year terms, renewable for a total of four years. Committee members are internists with expertise in primary care, health care administration, and medical and health services research.

How ACP Develops Clinical Policy Papers

ACP continually refines and enhances its methodology for developing evidence-based guidelines and guidance statements.

Learn More

Disclosure of Interests for Clinical Guidelines Committee

Disclosure of Interests for all members and ACP staff are reported, discussed, and resolved at the start of each Clinical Guidelines Committee meeting and conference call.

View the most recent Disclosure of Interests.

Reports to:

Board of Regents


To oversee the development of and recommend guidelines that will improve the practice of medicine.

Composition (14-15)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; two public members, Vice Chair and ten additional members. Strive for representation from among the members of the Board of Regents. Immediate Past Chair shall serve for 1 year after his/her term expiration as a Chair, with no reappointment (maximum of 1 year).


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR. Immediate Past Chair shall serve a maximum of 1 additional year.

2022-23 Members

Timothy J. Wilt, MD, MACP, Chair
Professor of Medicine, Staff Physician
University of Minneapolis School of Medicine
Minneapolis, MN
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Carolyn J. Crandall, MD, MS, MACP, Vice Chair
Professor of Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Ethan M. Balk, MD, MPH
Health Services Research Seminar Series coordinator
Center for Evidence Synthesis in Health
Brown University School of Public Health
Providence, RI
Specialty: Internal Medicine

J. Thomas Cross Jr, MD, FAAP, FACP
President and CEO
A-Cross Medicine Reviews
Colorado Springs, CO
Specialty: Infectious Disease

Thomas G. Cooney, MD, MACP, FRCP
Professor of Medicine
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Nick Fitterman, MD, MACP
Executive Director, Huntington Hospital
Professor of Medicine
Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine Hofstra/Northwell
Northport, NY
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Lauri A. Hicks, DO
Director, Office of Antibiotic Stewardship
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Decatur, GA
Specialty: Infectious Disease

Jennifer S. Lin, MD, FACP
Director, Kaiser Permanente Evidence-based Practice Center
Professor, Department of Health Systems Sciences
Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Adam J. Obley, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine, OHSU
Associate Chief of Staff for Community Care
VA Portland Health Care System
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Douglas K. Owens, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
Stanford University
Palo Alto, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Jeffrey Tice, MD
Professor of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Michael Maroto, Esq., (public member)
The Maroto Law Group, PC
Media, PA

Janice Tufte (public member)
Seattle, WA

Staff Liaison: Amir Qaseem,