Population Health and Medical Science Committee

Reports to:

Board of Regents


Develop and disseminate advice to improve the health of individuals and populations; and promote high value care based on the best available evidence on the determinants of health, including but not limited to genetic variability, environment, and lifestyle.

Composition (12)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; Vice Chair, and 10 members, one of which is a public member.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are invited to attend in-person meetings as guests.

Disclosure of Interest

Disclosures of Interest for all members and ACP staff are reported, discussed, and resolved at the start of each Population Health and Medical Science Committee meeting and conference call.

View the most recent Disclosures of Interest.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2023-24 Members

Linda L. Humphrey, MD, MACP, Chair
Professor of Medicine; Public Health and Preventive Medicine: Informatics and Clinical Epidemiology OHSU
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Adam J. Obley, MD, FACP, Vice Chair
Associate Professor of Medicine, OHSU Associate Chief of Staff for Community Care
VA Portland Health Care System
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Elie A. Akl, MD, MPH, PhD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine
Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Population Health at the Department of Epidemiology and Population Health
American University of Beirut
Riad-el-Solh, Beirut, Lebanon
Specialties: Internal Medicine and General Preventive Medicine

Andrew S. Dunn, MD, MPH, SFHM, MACP
Chief, Division of Hospital Medicine
Mount Sinai Health System, NY
New York, NY
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine

Janet A. Jokela, MD, MACP (ACP Treasurer)
Senior Associate Dean of Engagement
Carle Illinois College of Medicine
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL
Specialties: Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine

Devan L. Kansagara, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine
VA Portland Health Care System
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Rachael Lee, MD, MSPH
UAB Healthcare Epidemiologist
Associate Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Specialty: Infectious Diseases, Internal Medicine
Birmingham, AL

Katherine Mackey, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, OHSU
Associate Director, VA Evidence Synthesis Program Coordinating Center
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Sameer D. Saini, MD, MS, FACP
Director, VA HSR&D Center for Clinical Management Research Professor, Division of Gastroenterology
Member, Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Mark P. Tschanz, DO, FACP
Director of Professional Education
Naval Medical Center
Portsmouth Portsmouth, VA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Timothy J. Wilt, MD, MPH, MACP, FRCP
Professor of Medicine, Staff Physician
University of Minnesota Schools of Medicine and Public Health
Minneapolis, MN
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Ray Haeme Public Member
Granite Falls, NC

Staff Liaison: Amir Qaseem, aqaseem@acponline.org

To contact any of these individuals, please consult the Member Directory (members only) or request assistance from acpgovernance@acponline.org.