You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Coding and Payment Policy Subcommittee

Reports to:

Medical Practice and Quality Committee


Advise the Medical Practice and Quality Committee on: (a) Medicare and other third-party payer policies to improve coverage, improve payment tied to quality, value, and shared savings through alternative payment models, and reduce practice hassles; (b) recommendations to other major entities that interface with Medicare and other third-party payers; (c) recommendations for improving coding and documentation of physician services; resources to help internists practice high-quality, cost-effective care; content for annual Internal Medicine meetings regarding Medicare and other third-party payers; d) recommendations based on the Medicare Access and Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA) and other relevant payment reform laws that support the ongoing transformation of healthcare delivery by new Medicare payment and delivery models for physicians and other clinicians. Assist ACP's CPT advisor in reviewing proposed coding issues and policies from the CPT Editorial Panel and develop CPT and other coding proposals that advance the needs of internists, and function as a ACP's Specialty RVS Committee, as required by the RUC's guidelines for specialty societies.

Composition (10)

Chair; 9 members to include Chair, Subspecialty Advisory Group on Socioeconomic Affairs (SAGSA); any ACP member serving on the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Editorial Panel and alternate; CPT advisor, or American Hospital Association Coding Advisory Board; and the RUC representative or alternate and RUC advisor and alternate. Non reserved slots should go to individuals identified as possessing expertise in coding, reimbursement, payer policy, alternative payment models, current or past Medicare or private payer Medical Director, or Medicare Carrier Advisory Committee (CAC) member preferred.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2021-22 Members

Scott Manaker, MD, PhD, MACP, Chair
Professor of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: Pulmonary Disease

John V. Cox, DO, MACP
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Jeannine Z. Engel, MD, MACP
Associate Professor of Medicine
UVA Health
Charlottesville, VA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Martha L. Gray, MD, FACP (Governor)
Founder Partners in Internal Medicine Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor, MI
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Charles J. Hamori, MD, FACP (Regent)
Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine
Southern California Permanente Medical Group
La Mesa, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Tanvir Hussain, MD, MSc, MHS, FACP
Chief Quality Officer
Alameda Health System
Oakland, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Aysha H. Khoury, MD, MPH, FACP
Pasadena, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Michael (Doug) Leahy, MD, MACP
Summit Medical Group PLLC
Powell, TN
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Joshua M. Liao, MD, MSc, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine; Adjunct Associate Professor of Public Health
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Donna E. Sweet, MD,
KU Wichita Internal Medicine Midtown
Wichita, KS
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Staff Liaison: Brian Outland