Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Reports to

Board of Regents


Recommend to the Board of Regents effective strategies to assure integration of diversity and inclusion across the College’s governance and membership that is responsive to the changing environment and demographics. Such strategies should enhance professional development, foster diversity and involvement in College activities, and increase the value of membership for our diverse physician members.

Composition (16)

Chair, who is a member of the College with no other restrictions; Vice Chair, who is a Governor; twelve members, including one Resident/Fellow member, one Medical Student, and one Early Career Physician member.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2022-23 Members:

Tammy L. Lin, MD, MPH, FACP, Chair (Governor)
Private Practice
Voluntary Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine
University of California, San Diego, Health Sciences
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Ricardo Correa, MD, EsD, FACP, Vice Chair
Director for Diversity, Graduate Medical Education, UACOM-P
Associate Professor of Medicine,
University of Arizona College of Medicine-Phoenix
Phoenix, AZ      
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Dirk J. Gaines, MD
Academic Hospitalist
San Diego VA Health Care System
San Diego, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Joshua S. Hawley-Molloy, MD, FACP (Governor)
Chief, Division of Medicine
Landstuhl Regional Medical Center
Landstuhl, Germany
Specialties: Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine

Lacy C. Hobgood, MD, FACP, FAAP (Governor)
Division Head and Clinical Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University
ECU Adult and Pediatric Health Care
Greenville, NC
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Pediatrics

Josune N. Iglesias, MD, FACP
Associate Professor
Rush Medical College
Rush University
Chicago, IL
Specialty: Internal Medicine, General Medicine

Roger S. Khetan, MD, FACP, FHM (Governor)
Signature Medicine at BUMC
Dallas, Texas
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Aysha H. Khoury, MD, MPH, FACP
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
Morehouse School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Arnaldo Lichtenstein, MD, FACP (Governor)
Assistant Physician, Department of Internal Medicine,
Hospital das Clínicas
University of São Paulo
Sao Paulo SP, Brazil
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Joyce Sackey, MD, FACP
Associate Provost and Chief Diversity Officer
Tufts University School of Medicine (TUSM)
Boston, MA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Global Health

Fatima Syed, MD, FACP
Assistant Professor
Duke University
Durham, NC
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Sue S. Bornstein, MD, MACP (Chair, Board of Regents)
(Ex-Officio member)
Executive Director
Texas Medical Home Initiative
Dallas, TX 75360

Ryan D. Mire, MD, MACP (President)
(Ex-officio member)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medical Education
University of Tennessee College of Medicine
Nashville, TN
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Linh Taylor (CSM)
Medical Student
Oregon Health and Science University
Care Manager/ Fiduciary Apprentice
ElderCare Resources, Inc.
Eugene, Oregon
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Pooja Jaeel, MD (CRFM)
University of California
San Diego, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Ankita Sagar, MD, MPH, FACP (CECP)
Associate Professor of Medicine
Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Brooklyn, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Staff Liaison: Joanne Ey, jey@acponline.org