You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Reports to

Board of Regents

Charge

Recommend to the Board of Regents effective strategies to assure integration of diversity and inclusion across the College’s governance and membership that is responsive to the changing environment and demographics. Such strategies should enhance professional development, foster diversity and involvement in College activities, and increase the value of membership for our diverse physician members.

Composition (16)

Chair, who is a member of the College with no other restrictions; thirteen members, including one Resident/Fellow member, one Medical Student, and one Early Career Physician member.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.

Terms

Members and chair serve one-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2021-22 Members:

Tammy L. Lin, MD, MPH, FACP, Chair (Governor)
Private Practice
Voluntary Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine
University of California, San Diego, Health Sciences
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
tlin3247@gmail.com

Montserrat Diaz-Abad, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Specialties: Pulmonary Disease, Sleep Medicine
montse@kunhardt.net

Utibe R. Essien, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Pittsburgh, PA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
uessien@pitt.edu

John M. Flack, MD, MPH, MACP, FAHA, FASH (Regent)
Professor and Chair of Department of Internal Medicine
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
Springfield, IL
Specialty: Hypertension
jflack47@siumed.edu

Joshua S. Hawley-Molloy, MD, FACP (Governor)
Chief, Division of Medicine
Landstuhl Regional Medical Center
Landstuhl, Germany
Specialties: Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine
joshua.s.hawley-molloy.mil@mail.mil

Susan Thompson Hingle, MD, MACP
Professor, Associate Dean for Human and Organizational Potential
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine 
Springfield, IL
Specialty: Internal Medicine
shingle@siumed.edu

Lacy C. Hobgood, MD, FACP, FAAP (Governor)
Division Head and Clinical Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University
ECU Adult and Pediatric Health Care
Greenville, NC
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Pediatrics
hobgoodl@ecu.edu

Roger S. Khetan, MD, FACP, FHM (Governor)
Signature Medicine at BUMC
Dallas, Texas
Specialty: Internal Medicine
roger.khetan@bswhealth.org

Isaac O. Opole, MBChB, PhD, FACP, Chair (Regent)
Professor of Medicine, Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs
The University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, KS
Specialty: Hospital Medicine
iopole@kumc.edu

Kenneth G. Poole Jr., MD, MBA, FACP
Senior Medical Director, Experience
Optum Care
Eden Prairie, MN
Specialty: Internal Medicine
kenny.poole@optum.com

Fatima Syed, MD, FACP
Assistant Professor
Duke University
Durham, NC
Specialty: Internal Medicine
fzsyed@gmail.com

George M. Abraham, MD, MPH, MACP, FIDSA (President)
(Ex-officio member)
Professor of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Infectious diseases
george.abraham@umassmed.edu

Thomas G. Cooney, MD, MACP (Chair, Board of Regents)
(Ex-officio member)
Professor of Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine
cooneyt@ohsu.edu

Jeshanah N. Johnson (CSM)
Medical Student
University of Mississippi Medical School
Jackson, MS
Specialty: Other
jjohnson29@umc.edu

Pooja Jaeel, MD (CRFM)
Internal Medicine Resident
University of California
San Diego, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
jaeel.pooja@gmail.com

Ricardo Correa, MD, FACP (CECP)
Endocrinology fellowship Program Director
Director for diversity of GME
University of Arizona College of Medicine-Phoenix
Phoenix, AZ
Specialty: Internal Medicine, Endocrinology, Diabetes, Metabolism
riccorrea20@hotmail.com

Staff Liaison: Joanne Ey, jey@acponline.org