You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Global Engagement Committee

Reports to:

Board of Regents

Charge

Recommend to the Board of Regents approaches for the College to connect, support and inspire internists as members of the global internal medicine community.

Composition (11)

Chair; Vice Chair; two Regents; three Governors of international chapters, and four at-large members.

Terms

Chair, Vice and Chair and members serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2021-22 Members

Nestor Sosa, MD, MACP, Chair
General Director
Gorgas Memorial Institute
Panama, Panama
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases
NRSosa@salud.unm.edu

Mukta Panda, MD, MACP, FRCP, Vice Chair
Professor, Department of Medicine and Medical Education
Assistant Dean for Well-Being and Medical Student Education
University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga
Chattanooga, TN
Specialty: Internal Medicine
pandamukta@gmail.com

Waqar H. Ahmed, MD, FACP (Governor)
King Fahad Armed Forces Hospital
Jeddah 21492
SAUDI ARABIA
Specialty: CD
Waqar@post.harvard.edu

Omar T. Atiq, MD, FACP (Regent)
Professor of Medicine and Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, AR
Specialty: Oncology/Hematology
otatiq@gmail.com

Ebrahim Barkoudah, MD, MPH, FACP, SFHM
Associate Physician, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA
Specialties: Hospital Medicine, Internal Medicine
ebarkoudah@bwh.harvard.edu

Dawn E. DeWitt, MD, MACP, FRACP
Professor and Senior Associate Dean
Washington State University
Spokane, WA
Specialties: Endocrinology, Diabetes, Metabolism/Internal Medicine
dawn.dewitt@wsu.edu         

Jack Ende, MD, MACP
Professor of Medicine
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
jack.ende@pennmedicine.upenn.edu                                                                                  

Peter G. Hamilton, BSc, MBBCh, FRCPC, FACP (Governor)
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
Specialty: Internal Medicine
Peter.Hamilton@Ualberta.ca

Tiffany I. Leung, MD, MPH, FACP
Assistant Professor
Maastricht University
Maastricht, CX, The Netherlands
Specialty: Internal Medicine
tiffanyileung@gmail.com     

Eugenio Matijasevic, MD, FACP (Governor)
Bogota, DC, COLOMBIA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
eugenio.matijasevic@gmail.com

Eileen M. Moser, MD, MHPE, MACP (Regent)
Associate Dean for Medical Education; Professor of Medicine
Penn State College of Medicine-Penn State Health
Hummelstown, PA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Geriatric Medicine
emoser1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu

Staff Liaison: Marisa McCarren mmccarren@acponline.org