Council of Subspecialty Societies


To act as a forum for the exchange of ideas between the College and subspecialty societies on matters affecting medicine in general and subspecialty societies in particular. The Council of Subspecialty Societies consists of members of societies representing the subspecialties of internal medicine.


The societies presently represented on the Council are:

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology
American Academy of Neurology
American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases
American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists
American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology
American College of Cardiology
American College of Chest Physicians
American College of Gastroenterology
American College of Rheumatology
American Gastroenterological Association
American Geriatrics Society
American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
American Society of Clinical Oncology
American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy
American Society of Hematology
American Society of Nephrology

American Society of Transplantation and Cellular Therapy
American Thoracic Society
Endocrine Society
Gerontological Society of America
Infectious Disease Society of America
Renal Physicians Association
Society for Adolescent Medicine
Society of Critical Care Medicine

Ex-Officio members include:
Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine
Society of General Internal Medicine
Society of Hospital Medicine


Chair and Vice-Chair each serve a two-year term, renewable once for a maximum of four years for each position. Member terms are three-years, renewable at the discretion of the representative's organization.

Staff Liaison:  Brian Outland,