You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Governance Committee


Assure effective governance structures and processes through education, recruitment, oversight and evaluation of the Board of Regents, Committees and Councils.

Responsibilities include:

  1. Recruiting and nominating the ACP President-elect, Chair-elect of the Board of Regents, Chair-elect of the Board of Governors, the Treasurer and new Regent members of the Board of Regents.
  2. Overseeing nominations and election policy for all elected governance positions College-wide.
  3. Assuring effective culture and practices of the Board of Regents and its individual members through education and evaluation.
  4. Assessing and addressing the organization's governance needs.
  5. Overseeing appointments to committees and councils established by the Board of Regents.
  6. Assessing, managing and communicating Conflict of Interest disclosures.
  7. Implementing changes to the ACP Bylaws as requested and for approval by the Board of Regents and assuring College-wide compliance.

Composition (10)

Immediate Past Chair BOR, who is Chair; Chair, BOR, who is the Vice Chair; Chair-elect, BOR; 2 Regents; 3 Governors (in years 2-4 of their terms); Chair-elect, BOG, Immediate-Past President.


Length of time to coincide with position held. Members-at-large serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2020-21 Members

Douglas M. DeLong, MD, MACP (Immediate Past Chair, BOR)
Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine
Bassett Health Care
Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine
College of Physicians and Surgeons
Cooperstown NY
Specialties: IM/ GER

Heather E. Gantzer, MD, MACP (Chair, Board of Regents)
Internist, General Internal Medicine
Park Nicollet Clinic
Nocturnist, Park Nicollet Hospitalist Program
Methodist Hospital
Specialties: IM/Hospital Medicine

Rebecca A. Andrews, MS, MD, FACP
(Chair-Elect, Board of Governors)
Director of Ambulatory Education
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
Associate Professor of Medicine
CT Institute of Primary Care Innovation
Farmington, CT
Specialties: IM, CD

Sue S. Bornstein, MD, FACP (Regent)
Executive Director
Texas Medical Home Initiative
Dallas, TX
Specialty: IM

T. Brian Callister, MD, FACP, SFHM
(Governor) Nevada
Professor of Medicine
Director, Rural Medical Education
University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine
Reno, NV
Specialties: IM, HOSP

Elisa Choi, MD, FACP, FIDSA
(Governor) Massachusetts
Chief of Internal Medicine, HVMA Somerville
Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases/HIV Medicine Specialist 
Harvard Medical School Faculty
Somerville, MA
Specialty: ID, IM

Thomas G. Cooney, MD, MACP
(Chair-Elect, Board of Regents)
Professor of Medicine
Vice Chair for Education
Oregon Health & Science University
Staff Physician
Portland VA Medical Center
Portland, OR
Specialty: IM

Matthew F. Hollon, MD, MPH, FACP
(Governor) Washington
Clinical Professor, UW School of Medicine - Gonzaga University Regional Health Partnership
Associate Program Director, Providence IM Residency Spokane
Spokane, WA
Specialty: IM

Robert M. McLean, MD, MACP (Immediate Past President)
Full-Time Private Practice
Northeast Medical Group of Yale-New Haven Health System
Associate Clinical Professor
Yale School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Specialties: IM, RHU

Ryan D. Mire, MD, FACP (Regent)
Private Practice
Heritage Medical Associates
Nashville, TN
Specialty: IM

Jacqueline W. Fincher, MD, MACP, (President)
(Ex-officio Member)
Managing Partner
McDuffie Medical Associates
Thomson, GA
Specialty: IM

Staff Liaison: Joanne Ey