You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Ethics, Professionalism and Human Rights Committee

Charge

To formulate principles and policies on ethics, professionalism, and human rights for the Board of Regents, uphold high ethical standards in medicine and advise the College's Center for Ethics and Professionalism.

Composition (14)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; 10 members, including at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one Resident/Fellow member, one Medical Student, and one Early Career Physician member.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.

Terms

Chair, Vice-Chair, and members-at-large serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2021-22 Members

Isaac O. Opole, MBChB, PhD, FACP, Chair (Regent)
Professor of Medicine, Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs
The University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, KS
Specialty: Hospital Medicine
iopole@kumc.edu

Noel N. Deep, MD, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Regional Medical Director, Aspirus Medical Group, Inc.
Chief Medical Officer, Aspirus Langlade Hospital
Assistant Professor, Medical College of Wisconsin
Antigo, WI
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Hospice & Palliative Medicine
noeldeep@gmail.com

T. Brian Callister, MD, FACP, SFHM (Governor)
Academic Hospitalist; Professor of Medicine; Director of Rural Medical Education
University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine
Reno, NV
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine
tcallister@med.unr.edu

Jan K. Carney, MD, MPH, MACP (Regent)
Associate Dean for Public Health & Health Policy; Professor of Medicine
Larner College of Medicine at the University of Vermont
South Burlington, VT
Specialty: Internal Medicine
jan.carney@med.uvm.edu

Kari L. Esbensen, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Senior Faculty Fellow (Emory Center for Ethics)
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA
Specialties: Hospital Medicine, Hospice & Palliative Medicine
kari.esbensen@emory.edu

Joseph J. Fins, MACP MD, FRCP
The E. William Davis, Jr., M.D. Professor of Medical Ethics
Chief of the Division of Medical Ethics and tenured Professor of Medicine
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine
jjfins@med.cornell.edu

Thomas S. Huddle, MD, FACP
Professor
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL
Specialty: IM
thuddle@uab.edu

Mark A. Levine, MD, MACP
Commissioner
Vermont Department of Health
Shelburne, VT
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Other
mark.levine@vermont.gov

Kenneth Prager, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine, Director of Clinical Ethics, Chair of Medical Ethics Committee
Columbia University Medical Center
New York, NY
Specialty: PUD
kmp1@cumc.columbia.edu

George M. Abraham, MD, MPH, MACP, FIDSA (President)
(Ex-officio member)
Professor of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Infectious diseases
george.abraham@umassmed.edu

Thomas G. Cooney, MD, MACP (Chair, Board of Regents)
(Ex-officio member)
Professor of Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine
cooneyt@ohsu.edu

Taylor Harp (CSM)
Medical Student
Rocky Vista University
One Tree, CO
taylor.harp@rvu.edu

Joel Burnett, MD (CRFM)
Chief Resident
Oregon Health & Science University, Department of Medicine
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine
joel.burnett.md@gmail.com

Amy K. Holbrook, MD, FACP (CECP)
Associate Program Director, Residency Program
Abbott Northwestern Hospital
Little Canada, MN
Specialty: Internal Medicine
amy.k.holbrook@gmail.com

Staff Liaison: Lois Snyder Sulmasy, JD, lsnyder@acponline.org