You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Ethics, Professionalism and Human Rights Committee

Charge

To formulate principles and policies on ethics, professionalism, and human rights for the Board of Regents, uphold high ethical standards in medicine and advise the College's Center for Ethics and Professionalism.

Composition (14)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; 10 members, including at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one Resident/Fellow member, one Medical Student, and one Early Career Physician member.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.

Terms

Chair, Vice-Chair, and members-at-large serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2022-23 Members

Isaac O. Opole, MBChB, PhD, FACP, Chair (Regent)
Professor of Medicine, Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs
The University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, KS
Specialty: Hospital Medicine
iopole@kumc.edu

T. Brian Callister, MD, FACP, SFHM, Vice Chair (Governor)
Academic Hospitalist; Professor of Medicine; Director of Rural Medical Education
University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine
Reno, NV
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine
tcallister@med.unr.edu

Eduardo Bruera, MD, FACP
Houston, TX
Specialty: Internal Medicine
ebruera@mdanderson.org

Jan K. Carney, MD, MPH, MACP (Regent)
Associate Dean for Public Health & Health Policy; Professor of Medicine  
Larner College of Medicine at the University of Vermont
South Burlington, VT
Specialty: Internal Medicine
jan.carney@med.uvm.edu

Angelique N. Collamer, MD, FACP (Governor)
Chief of Rheumatology, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
Associate Professor, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
Bethesda, MD
Specialty: Internal Medicine
angelique.collamer@usuhs.edu

Kari L. Esbensen, MD, PhD, FACP
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Senior Faculty Fellow (Emory Center for Ethics) 
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA
Specialties: Hospital Medicine, Hospice & Palliative Medicine
kari.esbensen@emory.edu

Joseph J. Fins, MD, MACP, FRCP
The E. William Davis, Jr., M.D. Professor of Medical Ethics
Chief of the Division of Medical Ethics and tenured Professor of Medicine
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine
jjfins@med.cornell.edu

Kenneth Prager, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine, Director of Clinical Ethics, Chair of Medical Ethics Committee
Columbia University Medical Center
New York, NY
Specialty: Pulmonary Disease
kmp1@cumc.columbia.edu

Erik Wallace, MD, FACP
Senior Medical Director for Colorado (CO-1)
Oak Street Health
Clinical Professor of Medicine
Faculty Associate, Center for Bioethics and Humanities
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Colorado Springs, CO
Specialty: Internal Medicine
erikwallace@me.com

Sue S. Bornstein, MD, MACP, (Chair, Board of Regents)
(Ex-Officio Member)
Executive Director
Texas Medical Home Initiative
Dallas, TX
Specialty: Internal Medicine
suebornstein@gmail.com

Ryan D. Mire, MD, MACP, (President)
(Ex-Officio Member)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medical Education
University of Tennessee College of Medicine
Nashville, TN
Specialty: Internal Medicine
rdmire@gmail.com

Olivia Fuson (CSM)
Medical Student
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR
fuson@ohsu.edu

Diana Jung, MD (CRFM)
Resident
White County Medical Center
Searcy, AR
Specialty: Internal Medicine
diana.jung2020@gmail.com

Amy K. Holbrook, MD, FACP (CECP)
Associate Program Director, Residency Program
Abbott Northwestern Hospital
Little Canada, MN
Specialty: Internal Medicine
amy.k.holbrook@gmail.com

Staff Liaison: Lois Snyder Sulmasy, JD, lsnyder@acponline.org