Health and Public Policy Committee


Recommend to the Board of Regents College policy regarding national, state or local public policies on issues broadly affecting the health of the public, individual patients, and the practice of medicine.

Composition (15)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; 11 members, including at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one Resident/Fellow member, one Medical Student, and one Early Career Physician member.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents. The early career physician, medical student and resident/fellow member positions are appointed according to the BOR-approved policy for council appointments.

2024-25 Members

David Hilden, MD, MPH, FACP, Chair (Regent)
Scott F. Davies Chair of Medicine, Hennepin Healthcare
Professor and Vice Chair of Medicine, University of Minnesota Medical School
Minneapolis, MN
Specialty: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine

Jenny R. Silberger, MD, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Westside Lead, SNF Program; CCQM Lead and Quality Assurance Physician Consultant
NW Permanente P.C.
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Micah W. Beachy, DO, FACP (Regent)
VP, Chief Quality Officer, and Associate Professor
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Priscilla W. Carr, MD, FACP (Governor)
Adult Primary Care Barre
University of Vermont Health Network
Barre, VT
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Jan K. Carney, MD, MPH, MACP (Regent)
Associate Dean for Public Health & Health Policy; Professor of Medicine
Larner College of Medicine at the University of Vermont
South Burlington, VT
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Cynthia A. Jumper, MD, MPH, MACP
Professor of Internal Medicine
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Lubbock, TX  79401
Specialties: Internal Medicine

Selvam Joseph Mascarenhas, MD, FACP (Governor)
Medical Director and Physician Advisor
Christiana Care CareVIO
Hockessin, DE
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Jamar Slocum, MD
Assistant Professor of Hospital Medicine
George Washington University School of Medicine
Washington, DC
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Priya Radhakrishnan, MD, FACP (Regent)
Chief Academic Officer & VP Social Determinants of Health & Heath Equity
Scottsdale, AZ
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Michael J. Tan, MD, MACP, FIDSA
Professor of Internal Medicine
Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED)
Lead Physician, Summa Health Medical Group, Infectious Disease,
Summa Health
Akron, OH
Specialties: Infectious Diseases, IM

William E. Fox, MD, MACP (Chair, Board of Regents)
(ex officio)
Fox and Brantley Internal Medicine, PLC
Charlottesville, VA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Isaac O. Opole, MBChB, PhD, MACP (President)
(ex officio)
Professor of Medicine
Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs
The University of Kansas Medical Center
Overland Park, KS
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Amelia Papadimitriou (CSM)
Doctor of Medicine (MD) - Urban & Community Health Pathway
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Austin Oslock, MD (CRFM)
Internal Medicine-Pediatrics Resident Physician
University of Alabama School of Medicine
Birmingham, AL
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Celeste Newby, MD, PhD, FACP (CECP)
Assistant Professor, John W. Deming Department of Medicine
Section of General Internal Medicine & Geriatrics
Tulane School of Medicine
New Orleans, LA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Staff Liaison: Renee Butkus

To contact any of these individuals, please consult the Member Directory (members only) or request assistance from