You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Health and Public Policy Committee

Charge

Recommend to the Board of Regents College policy regarding national, state or local public policies on issues broadly affecting the health of the public, individual patients, and the practice of medicine.

Composition (15)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; 11 members, including at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one Resident/Fellow member, one Medical Student, and one Early Career Physician member.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.

Terms

Chair, Vice Chair, and members-at-large serve one year terms, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2022-23 Members

Suja M. Mathew, MD, FACP, Chair (Regent)
Chair of Medicine
Cook County Health
Hinsdale, IL
Specialty: Internal Medicine
smathew3000@gmail.com

David R. Hilden, MD, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Director, Division of Hospital Medicine, Hennepin Healthcare
Associate Professor, University of Minnesota Medical School
Minneapolis, MN
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine
david.hilden@hcmed.org

Micah W. Beachy, DO, FACP (Governor)
VP, Chief Quality Officer and Associate Professor
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE
Specialty: Hospital Medicine
mbeachy@unmc.edu

William A. Curry, MD, MACP (Governor)
Professor of Medicine, Associate Dean for Primary Care and Rural Health
University of Alabama School of Medicine
Birmingham, AL
Specialty: Internal Medicine
wcurry@uabmc.edu

Matt Hollon, MD, MPH, FACP (Governor)
Clinical Professor
UW School of Medicine -- Gonzaga University Regional Health Partnership
Associate Program Director, Providence IM Residency Spokane
Spokane, WA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
mhollonmdfacp@gmail.com

Cynthia A. Jumper, MD, MPH, MACP
Professor of Internal Medicine
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Lubbock, TX
Specialties: Internal Medicine
cynthia.jumper@ttuhsc.edu

Marianne C. Parshley, MD, FACP (Regent)
Providence Medical Group Gateway Internal Medicine
Portland, Oregon
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Geriatrics
parscook@gmail.com

Jamar Slocum, MD, Washington, DC
Assistant Professor of Hospital Medicine
George Washington University School of Medicine
Washington, DC
Specialty: Internal Medicine
Slocumj1@gmail.com

Michael J. Tan, MD, FACP, FIDSA (Regent)
Professor of Internal Medicine
Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED)
Lead Physician, Summa Health Medical Group, Infectious Disease,
Summa Health
Akron, OH
Specialties: Infectious Diseases, IM
medimike1@gmail.com

Elham A. Yousef, MD, MBA, MSC, SFHM, FACP
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Case Western Reserve University, School of Medicine
Cleveland, Ohio
Specialty: Internal Medicine
eyousef@tgh.org

Sue S. Bornstein, MD, MACP (Chair, Board of Regents)
(Ex-officio member)
Executive Director
Texas Medical Home Initiative
Dallas, TX
Specialty: Internal Medicine
suebornstein@gmail.com

Ryan D. Mire, MD, MACP (President)
(Ex-officio Member)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medical Education
University of Tennessee College of Medicine
Nashville, TN
Specialty: Internal Medicine
rdmire@gmail.com

Pranav Mellacheruvu (CSM)
Medical Student
Washington State University, Spokane
Issaquah, WA
pranav.mellacheruvu@wsu.edu

Vanessa Van Doren, MD (CRFM)
Resident
Emory University
Atlanta, GA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
vvandor@emory.edu

Ankita Sagar, MD, MPH, FACP (CECP)
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Brooklyn, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine
Sagar.Ankita@Gmail.com

Staff Liaison: Renee Butkus RButkus@acponline.org