You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Health and Public Policy Committee

Charge

Recommend to the Board of Regents College policy regarding national, state or local public policies on issues broadly affecting the health of the public, individual patients, and the practice of medicine.

Composition (15)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; 11 members, including at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one Resident/Fellow member, one Medical Student, and one Early Career Physician member.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.

Terms

Chair, Vice Chair, and members-at-large serve one year terms, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2021-22 Members

Omar T. Atiq, MD, FACP, Chair (Regent)
Professor of Medicine and Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, AR
Specialty: Oncology/Hematology
otatiq@gmail.com

David R. Hilden, MD, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Director, Division of Hospital Medicine, Hennepin Healthcare
Associate Professor, University of Minnesota Medical School
Minneapolis, MN
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine
governor.mnacp@gmail.com

Micah W. Beachy, DO, FACP (Governor)
VP, Chief Quality Officer and Associate Professor
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE
Specialty: Hospital Medicine
mbeachy@unmc.edu

Heather C. Brislen, MD, FACP (Governor)
Physician-Owner, Independent Primary Care Practice
Clinical Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine
University of New Mexico and Albuquerque VA Medical Center
Albuquerque, NM
Specialty: Internal Medicine
brislen@gmail.com

William A. Curry, MD, MACP (Governor)
Professor of Medicine, Associate Dean for Primary Care and Rural Health
University of Alabama School of Medicine
Birmingham, AL
Specialty: Internal Medicine
wcurry@uabmc.edu

Lee S. Engel, MD, PhD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center, New Orleans
Department of Medicine
New Orleans, LA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases
lengel@lsuhsc.edu

Matt Hollon, MD, MPH, FACP (Governor)
Clinical Professor
UW School of Medicine -- Gonzaga University Regional Health Partnership
Associate Program Director, Providence IM Residency Spokane
Spokane, WA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
mhollonmdfacp@gmail.com

Suja M. Mathew, MD, FACP (Regent)
Chair of Medicine
Cook County Health
Hinsdale, IL
Specialty: Internal Medicine
smathew3000@gmail.com

Molly Southworth, MD, MPH, MACP (Regent)
Clinical Professor of Medicine
University of Washington School of Medicine
Adjunct Professor of Medical Education
University of Alaska Anchorage/ WWAMI
Specialty: Endocrinology
mollysouthworth@gmail.com

Michael J. Tan, MD, FACP, FIDSA (Regent)
Professor of Internal Medicine
Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED)
Lead Physician, Summa Health Medical Group, Infectious Disease
Summa Health
Akron, OH
Specialties: Infectious Diseases, IM
medimike1@gmail.com

George M. Abraham, MD, MPH, FACP, FIDSA (President)
(Ex-Officio member)
Professor of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Infectious diseases
george.abraham@umassmed.edu

Thomas G. Cooney, MD, MACP (Chair, Board of Regents)
(Ex-Officio member)
Professor of Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine
cooneyt@ohsu.edu

Pranav Mellacheruvu (CSM)
Medical Student
Washington State University, Spokane
Issaquah, WA
pranav.mellacheruvu@wsu.edu

Christiana S. Shoushtari, MD, MPH, MS (CRFM)
Internal Medicine Resident
Advocate Lutheran General Hospital
Chicago, IL
christiana.shoushtari@gmail.com

Ankita Sagar, MD, MPH, FACP (CECP)
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Brooklyn, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine
asagar@northwell.edu

Staff Liaison: Renee Butkus RButkus@acponline.org