You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Education Committee

Publication Committee

ACP Response to Invitational Conference on USMLE Scoring (InCUS)

Reports To:

The Board of Regents


Develop plans and strategies to create and/or disseminate scientific, clinical, and professional education and training addressing the learning needs of physicians, residents, students, and other health care professionals; develop or support educational policy to improve the quality, safety, and value of health care; and support the professional fulfillment of medical learners.

Composition (14)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; 10 members-at-large, to include: at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one medical student, one Resident/Fellow Member, and one Early Career Physician.  Strive for representatives from each of the following:

  • International Physicians
  • General internists: (2 from different areas: hospitalist, ambulatory medicine, or traditional)
  • Subspecialists
  • Practicing physicians (representing a variety of geographic locations and practice types)
  • Academics (3 from different areas: undergraduate medical education, graduate medical education, and dean or department chair)
  • Educational content expertise (e.g. instructional design, interprofessional education, clinical skills, quality and patient safety)

Two Permanent Guests (non-voting): A representative from the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM); one non-physician community representative from the Patient and Interprofessional Partnership Committee.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.

Terms - Chair, Vice-Chair, and members-at-large serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2019-20 Members

Stephen D. Sisson, MD, FACP, Chair
Philip A. Tumulty Professor of Medicine
Executive Director, Ambulatory Services
The Johns Hopkins Hospital
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Specialty: IM

John (Jack) D. Myers, MD, FACP, Vice Chair
(Governor) Texas Northern
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
Vice Chair for Educational Affairs-Department of Medicine
Divison Director-General Internal Medicine
Baylor Scott and White Healthcare-Central Division
Texas A&M College of Medicine
Temple, TX
Specialty: IM

Ricardo Correa, MD, FACP
Phoenix, AZ
Specialties: IM, END

Charlene M. Dewey, M.D., M.Ed., MACP
Assistant Dean for Educator Development
Director of the Educator Development Program
Co-Director, Center for Professional Health
Professor of Medical Education and Administration
Professor of Medicine and Public Health
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN
Specialty: IM

John M. Flack, MD, MPH, MACP
Professor and Chair of Department of Internal Medicine
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
Springfield, IL
Specialties: HTN, Cardiovascular Epidemiologist

Melissa (Moe) Hagman, MD, FACP
Boise, ID
Specialties: Hospital Medicine, HPM

Doron Schneider, MD, FACP
Dresher, PA
Specialty: IM

Erik A. Wallace, MD, FACP
Colorado Springs, CO
Specialty: IM

Lawrence (Larry) Ward, MD, MPH, FACP
(Governor) Pennsylvania Southeastern
Vice Chair for Clinical Practice and Quality
Associate Professor of Medicine
Thomas Jefferson University
Specialty: IM

Douglas M. DeLong, MD, MACP (Chair, Board of Regents)
(Ex-officio Member)
Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine
Bassett Health Care
Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine
College of Physicians and Surgeons
Cooperstown, NY
Specialties: IM/ GER

Robert M. McLean, MD, MACP (President)
(Ex-officio Member)
Full-Time Private Practice
Northeast Medical Group of Yale-New Haven Health System
Associate Clinical Professor
Yale School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Specialties: IM, RHU

Renato Guerrieri, Houston, TX – CSM
Brian L. Block, MD, San Francisco, CA - CRFM
Ryan Kraemer, MD, FACP, Homewood, AL – CECP

Staff Liaison: Davoren A. Chick, MD, FACP