Performance Measurement Committee

The Performance Measurement Committee oversees the performance measurement related activities of the College.

The Performance Measurement Committee develops and disseminates policies and strategies to encourage the use of high-quality, evidence-based performance measures to optimally guide the improvement of the quality of patient care and practice of Internal Medicine. The College also is deeply involved in the critical review and evaluation of performance measures developed by other organizations.


The Performance Measurement Committee is composed of physicians trained in Internal Medicine and its subspecialties and include clinical experts in performance measure development and evaluation, healthcare administration, and health information technology. The members represent a variety of health care settings including private practice, academic medical centers, large health systems, and the purchasing community.

Disclosure of Interest

Disclosures of Interest for all members and ACP staff are reported, discussed, and resolved at the start of each Performance Measurement Committee meeting and conference call.

View the most recent Disclosures of Interest.

Reports to:

Board of Regents


To promote scientifically sound performance measures and measurement strategies to improve the quality of patient care and practice of Internal Medicine.

Composition (12-13)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; Vice Chair and 10 additional members. Strive for representatives from each of the following: Board of Regents; purchasing community; large health plan; physician expert in medical informatics; two practicing physicians. Immediate Past Chair shall serve for one year after his/her term expiration as a Chair, with no reappointment (maximum of 1 year).

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are invited to attend in-person meetings as guests.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents. Immediate Past Chair shall serve a maximum of 1 additional year.

2024-25 Members

Rebecca A. Andrews, MD, MS, FACP, Chair (Regent)
Professor of Medicine
Associate Program Director/Dir. Ambulatory Education,
Internal Medicine Residency
Connecticut Health Center
Farmington, CT

Caroline L. Goldzweig, MD, MSHS, FACP, Vice Chair
Chief Medical Officer
Cedars-Sinai Medical Care Foundation
Los Angeles, CA

Peter Basch, MD, MACP, FRCP
Senior Director, IT Quality and Safety and National Health IT
MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety
Washington, DC

Elisa I. Choi, MD, FACP, FIDSA
Chief of Internal Medicine
HVMA Somerville
Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases/HIV Medicine Specialist
Harvard Medical School Faculty
Boston, MA

Roger Chou, MD, FACP
Professor of Medical Informatics and Clinical Epidemiology,
School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine, School of Medicine
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR

Nick Fitterman, MD, MACP, SFHM, (Immediate Past Chair)
Executive Director, Huntington Hospital
Professor of Medicine
Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine Hofstra/Northwell
Northport, NY

Nicole J. Van Groningen, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Santa Monica, CA

Roger S. Khetan, MD, FACP (Regent)
Signature Medicine
Baylor University Medical Center
Dallas, Texas

Scott T. MacDonald, MD, FACP, FAMIA
Chief Medical Information Officer, Clinical Informatics
UC Davis Health
Sacramento, CA

CAPT. Nancy L. Miller, MD, FACP (Governor)
Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
Naval Medical Center San Diego, California
San Diego, CA

COL (RET) Cristin A. Mount, MD, MACP, FCCM (Regent)
Associate Professor of Medicine
Uniformed Services University
Bethesda, MD

Rhea E. Powell, MD, MPH, FACP
Assistant Professor
Jefferson University Medical School
Philadelphia, PA

Brook Watts, MD, FACP
Chief Quality Officer, U-M Health
Professor of Internal Medicine
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

Staff Liaison: Amir Qaseem,

To contact any of these individuals, please consult the Member Directory (members only) or request assistance from