You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Credentials Committee

Reports to: Board of Regents

Visit the Committee Forum (current committee members only)


Approve Fellowship candidates and recommend policies to facilitate advancement to Fellowship. Establish and implement guidelines and procedures to ensure that the requirements of membership approved by the Board of Regents are met, and to evaluate and grant exceptions to membership applicants who do not meet the stated requirements

Composition (9)

Chair, who is an ACP Fellow or Master; eight members.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2020-21 Members

Matthew B. Carroll, MD, FACP, FACR, Chair
(Governor) U.S Air Force
Designated Institutional Official
Keesler Medical Center
Keesler AFB, MS
Specialties: IM, RHU

Jan K. Carney, MD, MPH, MACP
Associate Dean for Public Health
Professor of Medicine
University of Vermont College of Medicine
Burlington, VT
Specialty: IM

Thomas H. Gallagher, MD, MACP
Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Medicine
Professor, Department of Bioethics and Humanities, University of Washington
UW Medicine Center for Scholarship in Patient Care Quality and Safety
Division of General Internal Medicine
Seattle, WA
Specialty: IM

Saba A. Hasan, MD, FACP
Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
Capital Health Regional Medical Center
Trenton, NJ
Specialty: IM

Mark S. Noah, MD, FACP
The Melvin Brody, MD Endowed Chair in Medical Education
Associate Dean of Medical Education
Professor of Medicine
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Health Sciences Clinical Professor
David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA
Los Angeles, CA
Specialty: IM

Michael J. Tan, MD, FACP, FIDSA (Regent)
Professor of Internal Medicine
Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED)
Lead Physician, Summa Health Medical Group, Infectious Disease
Summa Health
Akron, OH
Specialties: Infectious Diseases, IM

CDR Mark P. Tschanz, DO, MACM, FACP
(Governor) U.S Navy
Program Director, Internal Medicine
Naval Medical Center San Diego
San Diego, CA
Specialty: IM

Lavanya Viswanathan, MD, MS, FACP
Gastroenterology Fellow at Augusta University Medical Center
Augusta, GA
Specialty: GE

Leslie-Ann Williams, MD, FACP
Medical Director/Owner
Healing Wings International
St Thomas, VI
Specialty: PED-Medicine

Staff Liaison: Rebecca Moore