You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Medical Practice and Quality Committee


1) Provide recommendations to the Board of Regents regarding national, state or local public policies for improving access, payment, benefits, coding, documentation, and medical review; and 2) address issues related to the implementation of these policies in practice. Develop programs to support the quality, safety, value and affordability of patient care. Provide advice to staff on the policy direction of ACP’s interactions with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and other relevant entities on these issues and advise the BOR of these perspectives.

Composition (14)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; Chair of Coding and Payment Subcommittee; nine members to include at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one Resident/Fellow member and one Early Career Physician member.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.


Chair, Vice Chair, members-at-large serve one year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2021-22 Members

William E. Fox, MD, FACP, Chair (Regent)
Fox and Brantley Internal Medicine, PLC
Charlottesville, VA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Lawrence Ward, MD, MPH, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Executive Vice Chairman and Professor of Medicine
Thomas Jefferson University
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Sarah G. Candler, MD, MPH, FACP
Care Team Medical Director
Iora Primary Care
Houston, TX
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Jason M. Goldman, MD, FACP (Regent)
Affiliate Assistant Professor of Clinical Biomedical Science
Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine
Coral Springs, FL
Specialty: Internal Medicine, Other

Robert B. Hauger, MD, FACP (Governor)
Practicing Physician/Volunteer Faculty
Warren Clinic Internal Medicine
Tulsa, OK
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Stuart I. Henochowicz, MD, MBA, FACP (Governor)
Clinical Professor of Medicine, Department of Allergy, Immunology and Rheumatology
Georgetown University Medical School
Washington, DC
Specialty: Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology

Joshua M. Liao, MD, MSc, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine; Adjunct Associate Professor of Public Health
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Scott Manaker, MD, PhD, MACP
Professor of Medicine
Perelman Center for Advanced Medicine
Philadelphia, PA
Specialties: PUD, Critical Care

Kristin Mitchell, MD, FACP
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
Central Peninsula Internal Medicine
Soldotna, AK
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Sleep Medicine

Christina M. Reimer, MD, MACP
Associate Professor, Primary Care Physician
University of Colorado School of Medicine, UCHealth
Timnath, CO
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Anne Furey Schultz, MD FACP (Governor)
Medical Director Primary Care
LAVIN 21 Primary Care
Hinsdale, IL
Specialty: Internal Medicine

George M. Abraham, MD, MPH, MACP, FIDSA (President)
(Ex-Officio member)
Professor of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Infectious diseases

Thomas G. Cooney, MD, MACP (Chair, Board of Regents)
(Ex-Officio member)
Professor of Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Yoshito Nishimura, MD (CRFM)
Internal Medicine Resident
University of Hawaii
Honolulu, HI

Tracey Henry, MD, MPH, MS, FACP (CECP)
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Assistant Health Director
Emory University School of Medicine
Powder Springs, GA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Staff Liaison: Brian Outland