Publication Committee

Education Committee

Reports to:

The Board of Regents


Develop plans and strategies to create and/or disseminate scientific, clinical, and professional information in addressing the needs of researchers, physicians, residents, students, policymakers and other health care professionals.

Composition (15-17)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice Chair, who is a Governor; 11-13 members and nonmembers as follows:

  • Librarian (not required to be an ACP member)
  • 2 Annals Editorial Board members
  • 1 Resident/Fellow member
  • 1 Early Career Physician member
  • Strive to include 1 of each of the following: (a) Editorial Board Member of other ACP journal/magazine; (b) non ACP publisher or publishing professional (not required to be ACP member); and/or (c) non ACP journal editor (not required to be an ACP member)
  • Up to 5 additional members-at-large

Note: Will seek committee members with research and publication experience and avoid members who have current relationships with competing publication products or organizations.

The President and Chair of the Board of Regents are ex officio, voting members.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents. The early career physician and resident/fellow member positions are appointed according to the BOR-approved policy for council appointments.

2023-24 Members

Charles J. Hamori, MD, FACP, Chair (Regent)
Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine
Southern California Permanente Medical Group
La Mesa, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Lisa S. Inouye, MD, MPH, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Washington
Boise, ID
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Colette E. Bean
Chief Publishing Officer
American Physiological Society
Rockville, MD

Roger J. Bedimo, MD, MS, FACP
Chief, Infectious Diseases, VA North Texas Health Care System
Professor of Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center
Specialty: Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine

Otis W. Brawley, MD, MACP, FASCO, FACE
Department of Oncology, School of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
Specialty: IM

Ruth C. Carlos, MD
Professor of Radiology, Division of Abdominal Radiology
Michigan Medicine
Ann Arbor, MI
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Radiology

Marshall Fleurant, MD
Piedmont Atlanta Hospital
Marietta, GA

Shoshana J. Herzig, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Cambridge, MA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine

Luci K. Leykum, MD, FACP
Affiliate Faculty, Department of Internal Medicine
University of Texas Austin
San Antonio, TX
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Holly Grosetta Nardini, MLS
Associate Director
Cushing/Whitney Medical Library, Yale University
New Haven, CT

Ravi B. Parikh, MD, FACP
Instructor, Medical Ethics and Health Policy,
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Avital Y. O'Glasser, MD, FACP, FHM
Associate Professor of Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Jinoos Yazdany, MD
Professor of Rheumatology
University of San Francisco Health
San Francisco, CA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Rheumatology

Eileen D. Barrett, MD, MPH, MACP SFHM (Chair, Board of Regents)
(Ex-officio member)
Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Albuquerque, NM
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Omar T. Atiq, MD, MACP (President)
(Ex-officio member)
Professor of Medicine and Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, AR
Specialty: Oncology/Hematology

Gillian Naro, MD (CRFM)
Internal Medicine Resident
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Marilyn A. Katz, MD, FACP (CECP)
Associate Professor of Medicine
UConn Health
Hartford, CT
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Staff Liaison: Diane Scott-Lichter,
Christine Laine,

To contact any of these individuals, please consult the Member Directory (members only) or request assistance from