Mastership Committee

Reports to:

Board of Regents


To nominate to the Board of Regents candidates for Mastership and recommend Mastership policy.

Composition (12)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; ten members, including one Regent, three Governors, and six other members who have received Mastership or Fellowship.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members-at-large serve one year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, BOR.

2024-25 Members

Elisa I. Choi, MD, FACP, FIDSA, Chair (Regent)
Chief of Internal Medicine
HVMA Somerville
Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases/HIV Medicine Specialist
Harvard Medical School Faculty
Boston, MA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Tammy L. Lin, MD, MPH, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Private Practice
Voluntary Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine
University of California, San Diego, Health Sciences
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Ankush K. Bansal, MD, FACP, FACPM, SFHM (Governor)
Memorial Health System
Delray Beach, FL
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Michael S. Bronze, MD, MACP
DRB Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine
OU Health Sciences Center
Oklahoma City, OK
Specialties: Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine

Matthew F. Hollon, MD, MPH, MACP
Clinical Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine
University of Washington
Spokane, WA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Irma Luisa Ceja Martinez, MD, FACP (Regent)
Internal Medicine Physician
Private Practice
Zapopan, Jalisco, Mexico
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Ryan D. Mire, MD, MACP
Associate Professor of Clinical Medical Education
University of Tennessee College of Medicine
Nashville, TN
Specialty: Internal Medicine

COL. Brian E. Neubauer, FACP, MC, USAF
Chief, General Internal Medicine Service
Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
San Antonio, TX
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Tseganesh Selameab, MD, FACP
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine
University of Minnesota
Saint Paul, MN
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Elisa M. Sottile, MD, FACP (Governor)
Assistant Dean of Medical Education
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
University of Florida College of Medicine/Jacksonville
Jacksonville, Florida
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Catherine R. Womack, MD, FACP (Governor)
Associate Professor of Medicine and Associate Dean of Student Affairs and Admissions
UT Health Science Center
Memphis, TN
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Claire S. Zeigler, MD, FACP
Associate Professor
Department of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Staff Liaison: Meghann Williams,

To contact any of these individuals, please consult the Member Directory (members only) or request assistance from