You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Clinical Skills Committee

Reports to:

Senior Vice President, Medical Education


To provide advice and guidance to staff for interactive education in areas of communication, physical examination, procedural, and interpretive skills, promotion of physician wellness, and enhancing systems based practice.

Composition (9)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician, eight members, one of which is designated for a recipient of the Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarship.


One year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the CEO. The position held by the recipient of the Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarship serves one, non-renewable, two year term.

2020-21 Members

Jason Williams, MD, Chair
Atlanta, GA
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Cyrus Askin, MD
(Waxman Scholar)
San Antonio, TX
Specialty: PUD

Irina Z. Burman-Solovyeva, MD, FACP
Ypsilanti, MI
Specialty: IM

John Hunninghake, MD, FACP
Pulmonary & Critical Care Fellow
San Antonio Military Medical Center
Ft. Sam Houston, TX
Specialties: IM, PUD, CCM

Narmin Kassam, BSc, MD, MHPE, FRCPC, FACP
Professor, Department of Medicine
Interim Deputy Clinical Department Head
Director, Division of General Internal Medicine
Section Chief, General Internal Medicine
Alberta Health Services, Edmonton Zone
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB
Specialty: IM

Gigi Y. Liu, MD, FACP
Baltimore, MD
Specialty: IM

Nathanial S. Nolan, MD, MPH
Columbia, MO
Specialty: Hospital Medicine, IM

Romela Petrosyan, MD
Boston, MA
Specialty: IM

Nathaniel Warner, MD
Richmond, Virginia
Specialty: ID, IM

Staff Liaison: Daisy Smith