Medical Informatics Committee

Board of Regents


(1) Provide recommendations to the Board of Regents, committees, and councils on medical informatics, health information technology (IT), and digital health; and (2) evaluate health IT education, design, development, and incorporation into practice to improve the quality, safety, equity, access, efficiency, and affordability of patient care while minimizing clinician burden. Provide direction and advice to staff regarding the policy direction of ACP's interactions with federal agencies and other health technology entities.

Composition (13)

Chair; Vice-Chair who is a Governor; 11 members, including one early career physician and one resident/fellow member. The Vice Chair position may be filled by a non-Governor based on the current committee composition and anticipated needs/skill sets of the committee.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents. The early career physician and resident/fellow member positions are appointed according to the BOR-approved policy for council appointments.

2024-25 Members

Ross W. Hilliard, MD, FACP, Chair
Attending Physician, Division of General Internal Medicine
Maine Medical Center, MaineHealth
Freeport, ME
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Medical Informatics

Susan Lee, MD, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
State University of New York, Stony Brook
East Setauket, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Jonathan H. Chen, MD
Assistant Professor
Stanford Center for Biomedical Informatics Research
Palo Alto, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Ellen J. Gelles, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine, Case School of Medicine
Director of Medical Informatics, Provider User Experience
Shaker Heights, OH
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Sharath Kharidi, MD
Associate Chief Medical Information Officer, Acute Care
Program Director, Clinical Informatics Fellowship
West Chester, PA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Scott T. Mac Donald, MD, FACP
Chief Medical Information Officer
University of California, Davis Health
Sacramento, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Donna E. Morrison, MD, FACP (Governor)
Internal Medicine Physician, Department of Medicine
Northern Westchester Hospital
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Claude Pirtle, MD, FACP
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics
Vanderbilt University
Bentonville, AR
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Lisa Rotenstein, MD, MBA
Associate Medical Director of Population Health
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Assistant Professor
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Primary Care

Matthew Sakumoto, MD
Virtual-First Primary Care and Informatics Physician Champion
Sutter Health West Bay Medical Group Clinical Intelligence Lead, Clear Step
San Francisco, CA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Medical Informatics

John J. Whyte, MD, MPH
Chief Medical Officer
Great Falls, VA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Matt Soderstrom, MD (CRFM)
Internal Medicine Resident
San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium
San Antonio, TX
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Megan D. Hiles, MD, FACP (CECP)
Clinical Assistant Professor, General & Hospital Medicine
The University of Kansas Medical School
Mission Hills, KS
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Staff Liaison: Nadia Daneshvar,

To contact any of these individuals, please consult the Member Directory (members only) or request assistance from