The Alabama Chapter American College of Physicians Laureate Society

The Board of Regents authorizes chapters to honor Members, Fellows, and Masters of ACP who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research, or service to their community, their chapter, and ACP.   Awardees have a long history of excellence and peer approval in the specialty of Internal Medicine. The first Alabama Chapter Laureate recognition awards were presented in 1988 and this tradition continues.

The Alabama ACP Laureate Society was created in 2022 by the chapter council and Chapter Governor.  The purpose of the society is mentorship.  Specifically, the society seeks to identify Resident physicians and early career physicians who aspire to leadership positions in the American College of Physicians and to promote their leadership portfolios.

Past Alabama Laureates:

2021      Lisa Laycock Willett, MD, MACM, FACP

2020      Jefferson Underwood III, MD, FACP

2019      Vera Bittner, MD, MSPH, FACP

2018      Bernard H. Eichold II, MD, DrPH, FACP

2017      Charles Michael Soppet, MD, FACP

2016      Charles Seth Landefeld, MD, FACP

2015      Lourdes C. Corman MD, FACP, FACR

2014      Anupam Agarwal, MD

2013      Ross Vaughan, MD, FACP

2012      William J. Kooopman, MD, MACP

2011      Gustavo Heudebert, MD, FACP (now MACP)

2010      Maryella D. Sirmon, MD, FACP

2009      Wickliffe J. Many Jr., MD, FACP

              Robert M. Centor, MD, FACP (now MACP)

2008      Dennis G. Delgado, MD, FACP

              William W. Boyd, MD, FACP

2007      James R. Bonner, MD, FACP

              Stephen Alvin Davis, MD, FACP

2006      Roy F. Roddam, MD, FACP

              Frank D. Sutton Jr., MD, FACP

2005      Ben V. Branscomb, MD, FACP

              John M. McMahon, MD, FACP

2004      Edwin A. Rutsky, MD, FACP

              Paul Burleson, MD, FACP

2003      Pink L. Folmar, MD, FACP (now MACP)

              William E. Dismukes, MD, MACP

2002      Arthur L. Ennis, MD, FACP

              William A. Curry, MD, MACP

2001      Max Michael III, MD, FACP

              Keehn W. Berry Jr., MD, FACP

2000      Peter W. Morris, MD, FACP

              John Burrell Bass, Jr., MD, MACP

1999      Charles G. Cobbs, MD, FACP

              Richard O. Russell Jr., MD, FACP

1998      Wilmer J. Coggins, MD, FACP

              Richard H. Esham, MD, FACP

1997      J. Claude Bennet, MD, MACP

              John McDuffie MCGehee, MD, FACP

1996      Alan M. Siegal, MD, FACP

              Robert H. Lokey, MD, FACP

1995      Dick D. Briggs Jr., MD, FACP (now MACP)

              Irving A. Koffler, MD, FACP

1994      James A. Pittman JR., MD, MACP

              H Hamilton Hutchinson, MD, FACP

1993      Samuel Eichold II, MD, FACP

              William W. Winternitz, MD

1992      John F. Burnum, MD, FACP

              S. Richardson Hill, MD, FACP

1991      Jack J. Kirschenfeld, MD, FACP

              John M. Packard, MD, FACP

1990      Henry M. Gewin, MD, FACP

              Stanley S. Kahn, MD, FACP

1989      Basil I. Hirschowitz, MD, FACP

              Alwyn S Shugerman, MD, FACP

1988      Tom Sheehy, MD, FACP