About the Chapter


Ross B. Vaughn, MD FACP

Dr. Vaughn serves as the official representative of the College for the Alabama Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Vaughn, read his bio.

Welcome Letter | Past Governors | Governor-elect

Governor's Advisory Council

Immediate Past Governor: William Curry, Birmingham

Gustavo Heudebert, Birmingham

Treasurer: Pink Folmar, Birmingham

Membership Chair: Hernando Carter, Birmingham

Wellness Champion: Lauren Pacheco, Birmingham

Program Chairs: Rob Smola and Allison Rogers, Birmingham

Council Class of 2023

Tyler Butts, Mobile

Hernando Carter, Birmingham

Brad McAnalley, Sheffield

Roger Smalligan, Huntsville

Council Class of 2024

Alan Baggett, Owens Crossroads

Ryan Kraemer, Birmingham

Haley Ballard, Mobile

Rebecca Byrd, Mountain Brook

Council Class of 2025

Lakeisha Moore-Smith, Birmingham

Dibyajiban Mahapatra, Huntsville

Alonso Heudebert, Birmingham

T. J. Hundley, Mobile

Medical Student Representatives

Meghan Olivet, UAB

Jack Galla, USA



Council of Medical Student Members

Craig Hoesley, Birmingham, UAB Faculty Advisor and Chapter Coordinator

T.J. Hundley, Mobile, USA Faculty Advisor

Rekha Lall, Auburn, VCOM Faculty Advisor

TBA, ACOM Faculty Advisor

Resident and Fellow Council Representative: Dan Spell, UAB

Council of Resident and Fellow Members

Alonso Heudebert, UAB Faculty Advisor and Chapter Coordinator

Council of Early Career Physicians

Alan Baggett, Co-Chair, Huntsville

Allison Rogers, Co-Chair, Birmingham

Stephen Stuart, Birmingham

Andrew Hodges, Scottsboro



Congratulations to Pink L. Folmar Jr., MD, MACP (AHoover) and C. Seth Landefeld, MD, MACP (Birmingham) have been awarded Mastership of the College and will be honored during the Convocation Ceremony at the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. To be considered for Mastership, the candidate must have made a notable contribution to medicine. This includes but is not limited to teaching, outstanding work in clinical medicine (research or practice), contributions to preventive medicine, improvements in the delivery of health care, or contributions to medical literature.

2023 Chapter Excellence Award

We are pleased to announce that our chapter is in receipt of the Silver Level of the 2023 Chapter Excellence Award! Only 11 chapters received the Silver Award. The award recognizes chapters that achieve excellence in chapter management. In order to achieve the Chapter Excellence Award, chapters must meet nineteen Bronze criteria and seventeen Silver criteria. Criteria include such activities as undertaking efforts to increase advocacy efforts, collaborating with stakeholders to increase visibility of the ACP, holding competitions for members, providing chapter financial reports to members, having Medical Student and Resident/Fellow members on the Governor's Advisory council, retaining transitional and unpaid members, giving awards to chapter members.

Chapter Excellence Award Silver

Award Archives

Laureate | Laureate Society | Masterships | Alabama Chapter College Awards

Connect with us