You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Performance Measurement Committee

The Performance Measurement Committee (PMC) oversees the performance measurement related activities of the College.

The PMC develops and disseminates policies and strategies to encourage the use of high-quality, evidence-based performance measures to optimally guide the improvement of the quality of patient care and practice of Internal Medicine. The College also is deeply involved in the critical review and evaluation of performance measures developed by other organizations.


The PMC is composed of physicians trained in Internal Medicine and its subspecialties and include clinical experts in performance measure development and evaluation, healthcare administration, and health information technology. The members represent a variety of health care settings including private practice, academic medical centers, large health systems, and the purchasing community.

Disclosures of Interest

Disclosures of Interest for all members and ACP staff are reported, discussed, and resolved at the start of each Performance Measurement Committee meeting and conference call.

View the most recent Disclosures of Interest.

Reports to:

Board of Regents


To lead, formulate, and oversee the development and dissemination of policies related to performance measurement and strategies to use performance measures to optimally guide the improvement of the quality of patient care and practice of internal medicine.

Composition (12-13)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; Vice Chair and 10 additional members. Immediate Past Chair shall serve for 1 year after his/her term expiration as a Chair, with no reappointment (maximum of 1 year). Strive for representatives from each of the following: Board of Regents; purchasing community; large health plan; physician expert in medical informatics; two practicing physicians.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2017-18 Members

Catherine H. MacLean, MD, PhD, FACP, Chair
Westlake Village, CA
Specialty: RHU

Jacob T. Cross, Jr., MD, FACP, Vice Chair
A-Cross Medicine Reviews
Colorado Springs, CO

Eve A. Kerr, MD, FACP, Immediate Past Chair
VA Medical Center
Ann Arbor, MI
Specialty: IM

Eileen D. Barrett, MD, MPH, FACP (Regent)
Division of Hospital Medicine
Department of Internal Medicine
University of New Mexico School of Medicine
Albuquerque, NM
Specialty: IM

Robert M. Centor, MD, MACP
UAB Huntsville Reg Med Campus
Huntsville, AL
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Andrew S. Dunn, MD, SFHM, FACP
Chair-elect, Board of Regents
Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Hospital Medicine
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York, NY
Specialty: IM

Nick Fitterman, MD, SFHM, FACP
Vice Chair, Hospital Medicine
Department of Medicine
North Shore - LIJ
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine
Hyde Park, NY
Specialties: IM, Hospital Medicine

Mark L. Metersky, MD, FACP
Avon, CT
Specialty: Pulmonary Disease

Robert C. Pendleton, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
University of Utah Healthcare
Draper, UT
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Stephen D. Persell, MD, FACP
Chicago, IL
Specialty: IM

Edmondo J. Robinson, MD, FACP
Wilmington, DE
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Sameer D. Saini, MD, MS
Research Scientist, VA HSR&D Center for Clinical Management Research
Assistant Professor, Division of Gastroenterology
University of Michigan Hospitals
Ann Arbor, MI
Specialties: GE, IM

Paul G. Shekelle, MD, FACP
Los Angeles, CA
Specialty: IM

Staff Liaison: Amir Qaseem: