You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Council of Student Members

Visit Council forum (current members only)

Council of Student Members Call for Nominations

The council has multiple seats open for this election cycle. Nominations materials must be submitted no later than November 1, 2018.

See details

Reports to

Board of Regents


Respond to requests from Board of Regents, committees and staff for review of programs, products and services. Advise the Board of Regents and Board of Governors on :

  • Promoting internal Medicine as a career
  • Increasing the value of ACP membership to medical students Strengthening chapter and medical school level activities
  • Aligning council activities with the College's Strategic Plan

Composition (12)

Chair, who must be a member of the Council at the time of selection and who serves ex-officio on the BOR: Vice Chair, who must be a member of the Council at the time of selection and who serves ex-officio on the BOG: 10 at-large members to be selected with consideration given to the College's Diversity Policy, as well as year in medical school and type of academic program. Up to two at-large positions may be filled by student members from international chapters outside of the US. All members must be medical student members of ACP at the time of selection to the Council.


Chair & Vice-Chair shall serve one-year terms; all terms end upon graduation from medical school, not to exceed three years.

2018-19 Council Members

Chelsea L. Cockburn, Chair

Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA

Hanna Erickson, Vice Chair

Champaign, IL

Andrew N. Abboud
Pittsburgh, PA

Steven X. Chen
Indianapolis, IN

E. McAuley Fish
Goldsboro, NC

Renato Guerrieri
Houston, TX

Diana Jung
Kansas City, MO

Brendan J. Kim
Elk Grove, CA

Katelyn Madigan
Saint Paul, MN

Kevin C. Miller
Rochester, MN

Aleesha Shaik
Plainsboro, NJ

Alexandria Valdrighi
Omaha, NE

Staff Liaison: Amy Allen Collins