You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Council of Resident/Fellow Members

Visit Council forum (current members only)

Reports to

Board of Regents


Respond to requests from the Board of Regents, committees and staff for review of programs, products and services. Advise the Board of Regents and Board of Governors:

  • Enhancing the quality of internal medicine postgraduate training
  • Increasing the value of membership among Resident/Fellow Member members
  • Strengthening chapter level activities and relationships at residency/fellowship training programs
  • Aligning council activities with the College's Strategic Plan

Composition (14)

Chair, who serves ex-officio on the BOR; Chair-elect, who must be a member of the Council at time of election and who serves ex-officio on the BOG; 12 at-large members to be selected with consideration given to the College's Diversity Policy as well as training year, training program, and Chief Resident experience. All members must be Resident/Fellow members of ACP at the time of selection to the Council.


Chair and Chair-Elect serve consecutive one-year terms; members serve one two-year term (for a maximum of four years, if serving as Chair-Elect and Chair).

2019-20 Council Members

John Hunninghake, MD, Chair
Pulmonary & Critical Care Fellow
Brooke Army Medical Center
Ft. Sam Houston, TX

Jacob Quinton, MD, MPH, Chair-Elect
New Haven, CT

Lyle W. Baker, MD
Tulsa, OK

Brian L. Block, MD
San Francisco, CA

Carlie Cerne, DO
Silver Spring, MD

Arjun Gupta, MD, MPH
New York, NY

Eddie Hackler, MD
Dallas, TX

Matthew T. Nelson, MD
Bethesda, MD

Nathanial S. Nolan, MD
Columbia, MO

Ashruta Patel, DO, MS
Cleveland, OH

Romela Petrosyan, MD
Greenville, SC

Jesse Richards, DO
Mission, KS

Frederique St-Pierre, MD
Rochester, MN

Grant A. Turner, MD
Omaha, NE

Staff Liaison: Amy Allen Collins