You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Council of Resident/Fellow Members

Visit Council forum (current members only)

Reports to

Board of Regents

Charge

Respond to requests from the Board of Regents, committees and staff for review of programs, products and services. Advise the Board of Regents and Board of Governors:

  • Enhancing the quality of internal medicine postgraduate training
  • Increasing the value of membership among Resident/Fellow Member members
  • Strengthening chapter level activities and relationships at residency/fellowship training programs
  • Aligning council activities with the College's Strategic Plan

Composition (14)

Chair, who serves ex-officio on the BOR; Chair-elect, who must be a member of the Council at time of election and who serves ex-officio on the BOG; 12 at-large members to be selected with consideration given to the College's Diversity Policy as well as training year, training program, and Chief Resident experience. All members must be Resident/Fellow members of ACP at the time of selection to the Council.

Terms

Chair and Chair-Elect serve consecutive one-year terms; members serve one two-year term (for a maximum of four years, if serving as Chair-Elect and Chair).

2017-18 Council Members

Fatima Zahara Syed, MD, MSc, Chair
Resident in Internal Medicine
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
Philadelphia, PA
fzsyed@gmail.com


Sarah G. Candler, MD, MPH, Chair-elect
Baylor College of Medicine
Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center
Houston, TX
sarah.candler@bcm.edu


Christopher Aakre, MD
Rochester, MN
aakre.christopher@mayo.edu

Ayeetin Azah, MD
New Bern, NC
aazah11@gmail.com

Mary Huerter, MD
Iowa City, IA
mmhuerter@gmail.com

John Hunninghake, MD
Windcrest, TX
john.hunninghake@gmail.com

Krishna Juluri, MD, PhD
Baltimore, MD
kjuluri@jhmi.edu

Zachary C. Junga, MD
Silver Spring, MD
jungaz@gmail.com

Rita K. Kuwahara
Atlanta, GA
rkkuwahara@gmail.com

Susan Lou, MD
Minneapolis, MN
susanlou@umn.edu

Neena Mohan, MD
Philadelphia, PA
neena.mohan@jefferson.edu

Ravi Parikh, MD, MPP
Boston, MA
rparikh87@gmail.com

Jacob Quinton, MD, MPH
New Haven, CT
jacob.quinton@yale.edu

Erica P. Turse, DO
Jackson, MS
eturse@gmail.com


Staff Liaison: Amy Allen Collins  aallen@acponline.org