You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Council of Resident/Fellow Members

Reports to

Board of Regents

Charge

Respond to requests from the Board of Regents, committees and staff for review of programs, products and services. Advise the Board of Regents and Board of Governors:

  • Enhancing the quality of internal medicine postgraduate training
  • Increasing the value of membership among Resident/Fellow Member members
  • Strengthening chapter level activities and relationships at residency/fellowship training programs
  • Aligning council activities with the College's Strategic Plan

Composition (14)

Chair, who serves ex-officio on the BOR; Chair-elect, who must be a member of the Council at time of election and who serves ex-officio on the BOG; 12 at-large members to be selected with consideration given to the College's Diversity Policy as well as training year, training program, and Chief Resident experience. All members must be Resident/Fellow members of ACP at the time of selection to the Council.

Terms

Chair and Chair-Elect serve consecutive one-year terms; members serve one two-year term (for a maximum of four years, if serving as Chair-Elect and Chair).

2016-17 Council Members

Lavanya Viswanathan, MD, MS, Chair
Augusta, GA
Lviswanathan@augusta.edu

Lavanya Viswanathan

Lavanya Viswanathan is the current Chair of the Council of Resident/Fellow Members. She has been involved with ACP and served on several councils throughout her medical career and feels passionately about High Value Care and Cost Consciousness as it relates to medical education and training in addition to various health policy topics relevant to primary care. She also serves as a Major in the United States Air Force and has served abroad. At present, she is a Gastroenterology and Hepatology Fellow at Georgia Regents University (GRU) and serves as Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (USUHS).


Fatima Syed, MD, MSC, Chair-elect
Philadelphia, PA
fzsyed@gmail.com


Christopher Aakre, MD
Rochester, MN
aakre.christopher@mayo.edu

Ayeetin Azah, MD
Bethesda, MD
aazah11@gmail.com

Rahul Banerjee, MD
Philadelphia, PA
rahul.banerjee.md@gmail.com

Sarah G. Candler, MD, MPH
New Orleans, LA
sarahcandler@gmail.com

L. Austin Frederickson, MD
Akron, OH
lfredrickson@neomed.edu

Mary Huerter, MD
Omaha, NE
mmhuerter@gmail.com

John Hunninghake, MD
Windcrest, TX
john.hunninghake@gmail.com

Krishna Juluri, MD, PhD
Baltimore, MD
kjuluri@jhmi.edu

Susan Lou, MD
Minneapolis, MN
susanlou@umn.edu

Alexandra Norcott, MD
West Haven, CT
alexandra.norcott@yale.edu

Ravi Parikh, MD, MPP
Boston, MA
rparikh87@gmail.com

Deep Shah, MD, MSc
Atlanta, GA
deepjshahmd@gmail.com


Staff Liaison: Amy Allen Collins  aallen@acponline.org