You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Clinical Guidelines Committee

The mission of the Clinical Guidelines Committee (CGC) is to oversee the development of guidelines that will improve the practice of medicine.

The CGC will provide advice, assistance, and direction to the Education Committee and to the staff of Clinical Policy in the development and implementation of College guidelines. The CGC will make recommendations: regarding appropriate clinical practices to be embodied in evidence-based guidelines; guidance on the appropriate use of these guidelines; development of new methods to enhance College guideline application to clinical practice; and identification of technology assessment issues pertinent to the College and internal medicine.

The College appoints CGC committee members for one-year terms, renewable for a total of four years. Committee members are internists with expertise in primary care, health care administration, and medical and health services research.

Disclosure of Interests for Clinical Guidelines Committee

Disclosure of Interests for all members and ACP staff are reported, discussed, and resolved at the start of each Clinical Guidelines Committee meeting and conference call.

View the most recent Disclosure of Interests.

Reports to:

Board of Regents


To oversee the development of and recommend guidelines that will improve the practice of medicine.

Composition (14-15)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; two public members, Vice Chair and ten additional members. Strive for representation from among the members of the Board of Regents. Immediate Past Chair shall serve for 1 year after his/her term expiration as a Chair, with no reappointment (maximum of 1 year).


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR. Immediate Past Chair shall serve a maximum of 1 additional year.

2016-17 Members

Mary Ann Forciea, MD, MACP, Chair
Clinical Associate Professor
University of PA Medical Center—GER
Philadelphia, PA
Specialties: IM, GER

Nick Fitterman, MD, FACP, SFHM, Vice Chair
(Governor) New York Long Island
Vice Chair, Hospital Medicine
Dept. of Medicine
North shore - LIJ
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Hofstra University School of Medicine
Long Island Jewish Medical Center
New Hyde Park, NY
Specialties: IM, Hospital Medicine

Kate Balzer, MSW, LLSW
Ann Arbor, MI

Michael J. Barry, MD. MACP
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA
Specialty: IM

Cynthia M. Boyd. MD. MPH, FACP
Towson, MD
Specialty: GER

Carrie A. Horwitch, MD, MPH, FACP
Clinical Associate Professor
Virginia Mason Medical
Seattle, WA
Specialties:  IM, HIV Care

Linda L. Humphrey, MD, FACP
Medical Service P3MED
Portland, OR
Specialty: IM

Devan L. Kansagara, MD, FACP
Portland, OR

Alfonso Iorio, MD, PhD, FACP
McMaster University
Clinical Epidemiology/Bio stats
Health Information Research Unit CRL-140
Hamilton ON, Canada

Scott Manaker. MD, FACP
100 Centrex
Hospital University PA
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: PUD

Michael Maroto, Esq.
The Maroto Law Group, P.C.
Media, PA

Robert M. McLean, MD, FACP (Regent)
Full-Time Private Practice
Northeast Medical Group of Yale-New Haven Health System
Associate Clinical Professor
Yale School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Specialties: IM, RHU

Sandeep Vijan, MD
HSR&D Field Program
Ann Arbor, MI
Specialty: IM

Timothy J. Wilt, MD, MPH, MACP
Professor of Medicine
University of Minnesota School of Medicine
Staff Physician, Minnesota VAHCS
Minneapolis MN
Specialty: IM

Staff Liaison: Amir Qaseem