You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Scientific Medical Policy Committee

Reports to:

Board of Regents

Charge

Develop and disseminate advice to improve the health of individuals and populations; and promote high value care based on the best available evidence on the determinants of health, including but not limited to genetic variability, environment, and lifestyle.

Composition (12)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; Vice Chair, and 10 members, one of which is a public member.

Disclosure of Interest

Disclosures of Interest for all members and ACP staff are reported, discussed, and resolved at the start of each Scientific Medical Policy Committee meeting and conference call.

View the most recent Disclosures of Interest.

Terms

One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2021-22 Members

Linda L. Humphrey, MD, MACP, Chair
Professor of Medicine; Public Health and Preventive Medicine: Informatics and Clinical
Epidemiology OHSU
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine
lindalhumphrey@gmail.com

Adam J. Obley, MD, FACP, Vice Chair
Associate Professor of Medicine, OHSU
Associate Chief of Staff for Community Care
VA Portland Health Care System
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine
obley@ohsu.edu

Elie A. Akl, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine/
Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Population Health at the Department of Epidemiology and Population Health
American University of Beirut
Riad-el-Solh, Beirut, LEBANON
Specialty: Internal Medicine
ea32@aub.edu.lb

Rebecca A. Andrews, MD, MS, FACP (Chair, Board of Governors)
Professor of Medicine Associate Program Director
Internal Medicine Residency Director of Ambulatory Education, Internal Medicine Residency
Connecticut Health Center
Farmington, CT
Specialty: Internal Medicine
reandrews@uchc.edu

Andrew S. Dunn, MD, MPH, SFHM, MACP
Chief, Division of Hospital Medicine
Mount Sinai Health System, NY
Montebello, NY
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine
andrew.dunn@mountsinai.org

Mary Ann Forciea, MD, MACP
Clinical Associate Professor
University of PA Medical Center
Philadelphia, PA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Geriatric Medicine
maforciea@aol.com

Janet A. Jokela, MD, MACP
Professor and Head Dept. of Medicine, and Acting Regional Dean
University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana Champaign
Urbana, IL
Specialties: Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine
jokela@illinois.edu

Devan L. Kansagara, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine
VA Portland Health Care System      
Portland, OR
Specialty: Internal Medicine
dkansagara@gmail.com

Maura Marcucci, MD, MSc
Assistant Professor, Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence and Impact
McMaster University
Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
marcucci.maura@gmail.com      

Matthew C. Miller, MD, FACP
Clinical Professor of Medicine
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Gladwyne, PA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Geriatric Medicine
millermc216@gmail.com

Mark P. Tschanz, DO, FACP (Governor)
Program Director
Naval Medical Center San Diego
San Diego, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
mark.p.tschanz@gmail.com                                                                                                                      

Ray Haeme
Public Panel Member
Granite Falls, NC
rhaeme@gmail.com

Staff Liaison: Amir Qaseem, aqaseem@acponline.org