You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Scientific Medical Policy Committee

Reports to:

Board of Regents


Develop and disseminate advice to improve the health of individuals and populations; and promote high value care based on the best available evidence on the determinants of health, including but not limited to genetic variability, environment, and lifestyle.

Composition (12)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; Vice Chair, and 10 members, one of which is a public member.

Disclosure of Interest

Disclosures of Interest for all members and ACP staff are reported, discussed, and resolved at the start of each Scientific Medical Policy Committee meeting and conference call.

View the most recent Disclosures of Interest.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2020-21 Members

Linda L. Humphrey, MD, MACP, Chair
Medical Service P3MED
Portland, OR
Specialty: IM

Robert M. Centor, MD, MACP, Vice Chair
UAB Huntsville Reg Med Campus
Huntsville, AL
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Elie A. Akl, MD, FACP
Riad-el-Solh, Beirut
Specialty: IM

Rebecca A. Andrews, MS, MD, FACP
(Chair-Elect, Board of Governors)
Director of Ambulatory Education
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
Associate Professor of Medicine
CT Institute of Primary Care Innovation
Farmington, CT
Specialties: IM, CD

Thomas A. Bledsoe, MD, FACP
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Governor St. Primary Care Center
University Medicine Foundation
Providence, RI
Specialty: IM

Mary Ann Forciea, MD, MACP
Clinical Associate Professor
University of PA Medical Center
Philadelphia, PA
Specialties: IM, GER

Janet A. Jokela, MD, MPH, FACP, FIDSA
Acting Regional Dean
Professor of Clinical Medicine
College of Medicine
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL
Specialties: IM, ID

Devan L. Kansagara, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine at the VA Portland Health Care System
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR

Maura Marcucci, MD
Hamilton, Canada
Specialty: IM

Matthew C. Miller, MD, FACP
Gladwyne, PA
Specialty: IM, GER

Adam Jacob Obley, MD
Portland, OR
Specialty: IM

Ray Haeme, Public Member
Granite Falls, NC

Staff Liaison: Amir Qaseem,