Physician Well‐being and Professional Fulfillment Committee

Reports to

Senior Vice President, Medical Education Division


Provide ongoing advice to management to enhance member well‐being and professional fulfillment. This includes key input into current and future strategies and advocacy designed to promote the well‐being and professional fulfillment of internists and their clinical teams. The committee will also help identify opportunities for further integration of well‐being best practices into ACP initiatives.

Composition (13)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; Vice Chair, who is a Governor; one Regent; one Governor; one Medical Student Member; one Resident/Fellow member; one Early Career Physician member; one non‐clinician representative with relevant experience and expertise; five at‐large positions. The Vice Chair position may be filled by a non-Governor if the Chair is a Governor.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members serve one‐year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents. The early career physician, resident/fellow member, and student member positions are appointed according to the BOR‐approved policy for council appointments.

2023-24 Members

Susan Thompson Hingle, MD, MACP, Chair
Professor, Associate Dean for Human and Organizational Potential
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
Springfield, IL
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Daniel H. Pomerantz, MD, MPH, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Director, Palliative Care, Montefiore New Rochelle
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine, Montefiore New Rochelle
Associate Professor, Medicine (General Internal Medicine), Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine (Palliative Care), Albert Einstein College of Medicine
New Rochelle, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Colleen Christmas, MD, FACP (Governor)
Director, Primary Care Leadership Track
Associate Professor of Medicine
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Josune N. Iglesias, MD, FACP
Associate Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, IL
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Sonali L. Iyer, MD, FACP
Associate Clinical Professor
University of California Irvine
Diamond Bar, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Mukta Panda, MD, MACP, FRCP
Professor Department of Medicine and Medical Education
Assistant Dean for Well-Being and Medical Student Education
University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga
Chattanooga, TN
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Jonathan Ripp, MD, MPH
Dean for Well-Being and Resilience
Professor, Medicine, General Internal Medicine
Professor, Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine and Professor, Medical Education
Mount Sinai
New York, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Molly B. Southworth, MD, MPH, MACP (Regent)
Clinical Professor of Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine
Adjunct Professor of Medical Education, University of Alaska Anchorage/ WWAMI
Anchorage, AK
Specialty: Internal Medicine, Medical Education

Jennifer M. Sweeney, MA
Health Care Consumer Advocate, Innovator and Entrepreneur
X4 Health
Arlington, VA
Specialty: Other

Sandhya Wahi-Gururaj, MD, FACP (Governor)
Professor of Internal Medicine, Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine
University of Las Vegas Nevada
Las Vegas, NV
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Connor Devoe, MS (CSM)
Medical Student
University of New England - College of Osteopathic Medicine
Biddeford, ME

Adam Bumgardner, MD (CRFM)
Internal Medicine and Psychiatry Resident
National Capital Consortium
Bethesda, MD

Allison Ruff, MD, FACP (CECP)
Clinical Associate Professor
University of Michigan Health
Ann Arbor, MI

Staff Liaison: Daisy Smith,
Crissy Walter,

To contact any of these individuals, please consult the Member Directory (members only) or request assistance from