You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Physician Well‐being and Professional Fulfillment Committee

Reports to

Senior Vice President, Medical Education Division

Charge

Provide ongoing advice to management to enhance member well‐being and professional fulfillment. This includes key input into current and future strategies and advocacy designed to promote the well‐being and professional fulfillment of internists and their clinical teams. The committee will also help identify opportunities for further integration of well‐being best practices into ACP initiatives.

Composition (13)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; one Regent; one Governor; one Medical Student Member; one Resident/Fellow member; one Early Career Physician member; one non‐clinician representative with relevant experience and expertise; six at‐large positions.

Terms 

Chair and members serve one‐year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents. The early career physician, resident/fellow member, and student member positions are appointed according to the BOR‐approved policy for council appointments.

2021-22 Members

Susan Thompson Hingle, MD, MACP, Chair
Professor, Associate Dean for Human and Organizational Potential
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
Springfield, IL
Specialty: Internal Medicine
shingle@siumed.edu

Stewart F. Babbott, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine; Section Head, General Medicine
University of Virginia, School of Medicine
Charlottesville, VA
Specialties: Internal Medicine
sbabbott@virginia.edu

Eileen D. Barrett, MD, MPH, SFHM, MACP
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM
Specialty: Internal Medicine
barrett.eileen@gmail.com

Jay Bhatt, MD, FACP
Chief Clinical Product Officer and Medical Director
Medical Home Network
Chicago, IL
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Geriatric Medicine
jbhattd@gmail.com

Bert A. Govig, MD, MPH, FACP (Governor)
Associate Professor of Medicine
McGill University, Department of Medicine
Montreal, QC, Canada
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine
northerndoc@gmail.com

Charles J. Hamori, MD, FACP (Regent)
Partner; Voluntary Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine
Southern California Permanente Medical Group
La Mesa, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
charles.j.hamori@kp.org

Mukta Panda, MD, MACP, FRCP
Professor Department of Medicine and Medical Education
Assistant Dean for Well-Being and Medical Student Education
University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga
Chattanooga, TN
Specialty: IM
pandamukta@gmail.com

Elisabeth Poorman, MD
Addiction Medicine Fellow
Seattle, WA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Other
elisabeth.poorman@gmail.com

Jonathan Ripp, MD, MPH
Dean for Well-Being and Resilience; Professor, Medicine, General Internal Medicine; Professor, Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine; Professor, Medical Education
Mount Sinai
New York, NY
Specialty: IM
jonathan.ripp@mountsinai.org

Jennifer M. Sweeney, MA
Health Care Consumer Advocate, Innovator and Entrepreneur
X4 Health
Arlington, VA
Specialty: Other
jsweeney@x4health.com

Rachana S. Raghupathy (CSM)
Medical Student
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Dayton, OH
rraghupathy@neomed.edu

Jacob Peoples, MD (CRFM)
Internal Medicine Resident
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
jpeopl@lsuhsc.edu

Lauren Nelson, MD, FACP (CECP)
Primary Care Physician
Methodist Physicians Clinic
Omaha, NE
Specialty: Internal Medicine
Nelson.Lauren08@gmail.com

Staff Liaison: Daisy Smith, dsmith@acponline.org
Crissy Walter, cwalter@acponline.org