You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Subcommittee

Reports to

Governance Committee


Recommend to the Governance Committee effective strategies to assure integration of diversity and inclusion across the College’s governance and membership that is responsive to the changing environment and demographics. Such strategies should enhance professional development, foster diversity and involvement in College activities, and increase the value of membership for our diverse physician members.

Composition (10)

Chair, who is a member of the Governance Committee; nine members.


Members and chair serve one-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR..

2019-20 Members:

Eileen D. Barrett, MD, MPH, FHM, FACP, Chair
Division of Hospital Medicine
Department of Internal Medicine
University of New Mexico School of Medicine
Albuquerque, NM
Specialty: IM

George Abraham, MD, MPH, FACP, FIDSA
Professor of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Associate Chief of Medicine
Saint Vincent Hospital
Worcester, MA
Specialty: ID

Micah W. Beachy, DO, FACP
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE
Specialty: IM, Hospitalist

Sue S. Bornstein, MD, FACP
Executive Director
Texas Medical Home Initiative
Dallas, TX
Specialty: IM

Thomas G. Cooney, MD, MACP
Professor of Medicine
Vice Chair for Education
Oregon Health & Science University
Staff Physician
Portland VA Medical Center
Portland, OR
Specialty: IM

Montserrat Diaz-Abad, MD, FACP
Baltimore, MD
Specialty: PUL

John M. Flack, MD, MPH, MACP
Professor and Chair of Department of Internal Medicine
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
Springfield, IL
Specialties: HTN, Cardiovascular Epidemiologist

Susan Thompson Hingle, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
SIU School of Medicine
Springfield, IL
Specialty: IM

Tammy L. Lin, MD, FACP
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Specialty: IM

Isaac O. Opole, MD, PhD, FACP
(Governor)  Kansas
Associate Professor of Medicine
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
The University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, KS
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Staff Liaison: Joanne Ey,