About the Chapter


Renee Y. Carter, MD, MPH, FACP

Dr. Carter serves as the official representative of the College for the Virginia Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Carter, read their bio.

Welcome Letter | Advisory Council and Committees | Past Governors | Bylaws| DEI Policy | Climate and Health Committee


Chapter Awards

Chapter awards were presented during our annual awards reception. 2023 awards went to: Laureate Award – Stuart I Henochowicz, MD, MBA, FACP; Vivian W. Pinn Leadership in the Health of Women Award - Jeri L Lantz, MD, FACP; Community Teaching – Matthew D Bernens, MD; Early Career Physician – Adam M Garber, MD, FACP; Paul Florentino Volunteerism Award – Hamid R. Okhravi, MD; The Dr. George Abraham Diversity, Equity and inclusion (DEI) Advocacy Award - Somaya Albhaisi, MD, FACP. Each year we present academic teaching awards. The Academic Teaching Awardees for 2023 are: Inpatient Internal Medicine Teaching Award – Y. Darien Wang, MD, FACP and Aaron E Mills, DO, FACP; Inpatient Subspecialist Teaching Award – Timothy R Ori, Jr, MD; Outpatient Internal Medicine Teaching Award –Thomas J. Manser, MD, FACP; Outpatient Subspecialist Teaching Award – Christian D Weaver, MD; Mentorship Award – Rehan Qayyum, MBBS.


2023 Chapter Excellence Award

We are pleased to announce that our chapter is in receipt of the Gold Level of the 2023 Chapter Excellence Award! The award recognizes truly extraordinary chapters that surpass excellence in chapter management. We are in the company of 54 other outstanding chapters. In order to achieve the Gold Level of the Chapter Excellence Award, chapters must meet nineteen Bronze criteria, seventeen Silver criteria and multiple Gold level activities. Criteria include such activities as having a legislative action plan or agenda, holding a volunteerism/community service activity, holding multiple stand-alone meetings, having revenue sources outside of dues and meeting registration fees, implementing a strategic plan, implementing a formal recruitment and retention plan and measuring outcomes, conducting various activities for Medical Students, Residents and Early Career Physicians.

Chapter Excellence Award Gold

Award Archives

Laureate Award | Chapter Centennial Legacy Award | Virginia Chapter College Awards

Connect with us