You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Past Virginia Governors

1927-39 J. Morrison Hutcheson, Richmond
1939-44 Walter B. Martin, Norfolk
1944-50 J. EdwinWood, Jr., Charlottesville
(Acting Governor 1942-43 while Martin was on active Army duty)
1950-59 Charles M. Caravati, Richmond
1959-65 Kinloch Nelson, Richmond
1965-66 William Parson, Charlottesville
1966-71 Julian R. Beckwith, Sr., Charlottesville
1971-75 William Taliaferro Thompson, Jr., Richmond
1973-74 Albert J.Wasserman, Richmond
(Acting Governor while Dr. Thompson was on sabbatical)
1975-79 Edward W. Hook, Charlottesville
1979-83 James M. Moss, Alexandria
1983-87 James P. Baker, Virginia Beach
1987-91 Charles L. Crockett, Jr., Roanoke
1991-95 Oscar E. Edwards, Norfolk (Chair, 1995-96)
1995-99 Munsey S.Wheby, Charlottesville (Chair, 1999-00)
1998-00 Apostolos (Paul) Dallas, Roanoke (Transitional)
1999-03 Jeffrey P. Harris, Millwood (Chair, 2003-04)
2003-07 Sarah T. Corley, Charlottesville
2007-11 Michael F. Rein, Charlottesville
2011 Paul F. Florentino, Bethesda, MD (Died in office)
2011-12 Michael F. Rein, Charlottesville (Interim)
2012-16 Lisa L. Ellis, Manakin Sabot
2016-20 William E. Fox, Charlottesville