You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

About the South Carolina Chapter


Mary Beth Poston, MD, FACP

Dr. Poston serves as the official representative of the College for the South Carolina Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Poston, read her bio.

Welcome Letter | Advisory Council | Past Governors

Chapter Vision Statement

To preserve the integrity of the practice of internal medicine, elevate our practices to historic delivery of excellent medical care, and lead our state in patient advocacy, collaboration among specialties, and continuing medical education.


Dr. Blase A. Carabello selected for ACP National Award

Dr. Carabello was officially recognized with the Harriet P. Dustan Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Dr. Carabello is an internationally recognized expert in the field of valvular heart disease and currently serves as Chief and Professor of Cardiology, Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University. He specializes in the care of patients who have complex valvular heart disease, and in the practice of general internal medicine.

SC Resident wins in Resident/Fellow Research ePoster category during 2021 National Abstract Competition

Kunjan Udani, MD, Chief Resident at East Carolina University/Vidant Medical Center, won for her Research ePoster "A Retrospective Study of Admission NT-proBNP Levels as a Predictor of Readmission Rate, Length of Stay, and Mortality HCA."

Award Archives

Chapter Awardees | Award Descriptions/Criteria | Chapter Centennial Legacy Award | Chapter Awards

Member News

Dr. Mark Fox, recipient of the James McFarland Award

Congratulations to our 2020 South Carolina Chapter Awardees

  • Laureate Award: Anne G. Cook, MD, FACP
  • Early Career Physician Award: Keith R. Barron, MD, FACP
  • James McFarland Award: Mark A. Fox, MD, FACP

More Member News

Connect with us