You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Welcome to our Chapter Web site!


Micah W. Beachy, DO, FACP

Dr. Beachy serves as the official representative of the College for the Nebraska Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Beachy, read his bio.

Welcome Letter | Past Governors


Dr. David O'Dell wins National Award

During the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting, Dr. O'Dell received the Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award for 2019-2020. This national award is bestowed upon a Fellow or Master of the College who has demonstrated the ennobling qualities of a great teacher as judged by the acclaim and accomplishments of former students who have been inspired and achieved positions of leadership in the field of medical education, primarily as teachers. Dr. O’Dell has been Director of Undergraduate Education for the Department of Internal Medicine since 1991 and served as Junior Clerkship Director for many years. He has been Co-Director of the Primary Care Residency Program since 1989 and has been a long-standing member of the College of Medicine’s Curriculum Committee. During his more than 30 years as a faculty member, he has received virtually every teaching award offered by UNMC.

Dr. Renuga Vivekanandan receives 2020 Walter J. O’Donohue, Jr. MD Award

The Walter J. O’Donohue, Jr. Award given by our Chapter honors a physician who embodies the qualities set by our late friend and colleague, an ardent supporter of the Nebraska Chapter: great leadership, scholarship and mentoring in his/her career. Dr. Renuga Vivekanandan, Assistant Dean of Strategy and Accreditation at Creighton University School of Medicine, is board certified in internal medicine and infectious disease. She serves as the Director of Hospital Epidemiology as well as the Director of Antimicrobial Stewardship for CHI Health System (which includes 14 hospitals). An Associate Professor of Internal Medicine at Creighton University, she is a sought-after mentor and collaborator with medical students, residents, and fellows. She is regionally and nationally known for her work in antimicrobial stewardship through her published works and presentations at national conferences.

Award Archives

2020 Chapter Awardees Brochure | Chapter Previous Awardees | Chapter Awards

Member News

Lauren Nelson, MD, FACP

Dr. Lauren Nelson is leading the way in a number of different areas of our Chapter and on a National level. She led the Nebraska ACP Chapter’s Early Career Physicians Council for 3 years, working to ensure that young physicians have mentors to guide them through their career development process. She is currently a member of the National ACP Council of Early Career Physicians as well as the newly formed Committee for Physician Well-being and Professional Fulfillment. In recognition of her efforts, she received the 2020 Nebraska Chapter Early Career Physician Award.

More Member News

Connect with us