About the Chapter


Lauren Nelson, MD, FACP

Dr. Nelson serves as the official representative of the College for the Nebraska Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Nelson, read their bio.

Welcome Letter | Past Governors

Nebraska Chapter College Awards

Dr. Debra J. Romberger wins Laureate Award

Dr. Debra Romberger is Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine at University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) and a pulmonary/critical care physician.  She graduated from the University of Kansas School of Medicine and completed her Internal Medicine residency and pulmonary/critical care clinical fellowship at Kansas University Medical Center.  She subsequently completed a pulmonary research fellowship at UNMC.  Dr. Romberger joined the faculty at UNMC and rose to the rank of Professor.  She has previously served as the Vice Chair of Research for the UNMC Department of Internal Medicine and as the Associate Chief of Staff for Research at the Omaha VA Medical Center.  Dr. Romberger is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians and the American College of Chest Physicians.  She is on the Council of the Association of Professors of Medicine (APM).  Her research interests focus on airway inflammation especially related to agricultural-related dusts.  Her research has been funded by NIOSH and the VA R&D.  She is the PI of the outreach program for the Central States Center for Agriculture Safety and Health at UNMC. 

Dr. Joseph Nahas receives 2022 Walter J. O’Donohue, Jr. MD Award

Dr. Nahas completed his undergraduate and medical school education as well as his internal medicine residency training at Creighton University. He subsequently competed a rheumatology fellowship at the University of Colorado. He joined the Creighton faculty in 2013 and became Program Director of Internal Medicine in 2019. Dr. Nahas also serves as the Interim Division Chief of Rheumatology at Creighton. He is passionate about mentoring and guiding the next generation of physicians in his role as program director, as well as caring for his patients. 

Award Archives

2022 Chapter Awardees Brochure | Chapter Previous Awardees | Nebraska Chapter College Awards

Connect with us