You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

About the Chapter


Otis Gowdy, Jr., MD, MBA, FACP

Dr. Gowdy serves as the official representative of the College for the Mississippi Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Gowdy, read his bio.

Welcome Letter | Advisory Council | Committees | Past Governors



Congratulations to Dr. Daniel Jones (Jackson) who has been awarded Mastership of the College. To be considered for Mastership, the candidate must have made a notable contribution to medicine. This includes but is not limited to teaching, outstanding work in clinical medicine (research or practice), contributions to preventive medicine, improvements in the delivery of health care, or contributions to medical literature. Dr. Jones is the Director of Clinical and Population Science in the Mississippi Center for Obesity Research and holds the inaugural Mr. and Mrs. Joe F. Sanderson, Jr. Chair in Obesity, Metabolic Diseases and Nutrition. He also serves as Professor of Medicine and Physiology at the University of Mississippi School of Medicine. Dr. Jones has served the University of Mississippi in a number of capacities, including Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine from 2003-2009, and Chancellor of the University from 2009-2015.

Mississippi Chapter receives 2021 Chapter Excellence Bronze Award

We are pleased to announce that our chapter is in receipt of the Bronze Level of the 2021 Chapter Excellence Award! The award recognizes chapters that achieve basics in chapter management. In order to achieve the Chapter Excellence Award, chapters must meet twenty-one Bronze criteria. Criteria include such activities as being involved in advocacy activities, communicating with members, having a chapter/regional scientific meeting along with a planning committee, having a sound financial structure in place, recruiting and advancing members and having an awards committee that identifies candidates for local or national awards. We would like to extend a special thanks to those chapter members who assisted us in all of these endeavors! For their hard work and dedication, we received this award.

Award Archives

Laureates | Chapter Awards

Member News

Dr. Dan Edney (right) receiving award from Carey President Dr. Tommy King (left)

Dr. Dan Edney of Vicksburg has been inducted into the Alumni Hall of Fame for William Carey University. He is a Summa Cum Laude graduate of Carey and went on to earn his MD, Summa Cum Laude, from University of Mississippi Medical School. Dr. Edney was awarded Most Outstanding Resident for Internal Medicine at University of Virginia. He practices Internal and Addiction Medicine and was recently appointed Chief Medical Officer for the Mississippi Department of Health. Dr. Edney is also very involved in the community, having founded the First Baptist Church Medical/Dental Ministry. More Member News

Connect with us