You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Chapter Awardees

Laureate Award: Robert Shields Abernathy Award

The laureate award for Arkansas was named after Robert Shields Abernathy, MD, FACP for all his work and dedication to the internal medicine field.

2019- Omar Atiq, MD FACP
2018- Michael G. Mackey, MD, FACP
2017- C. Lindsey Miller, MD, FACP
2016 - Laura Hutchins, MD, FACP
2015 - Robert C. Lavender, MD, FACP
2014 - David C. Covey, MD, FACP
2013 - Sara Tariq MD, FACP
2012 - Stephen P. Johnson MD, FACP
2011 - Robert Hopkins, MD FACP
2010 - Clark Fincher, MD, FACP
2009 - Robert D. Taylor, MD, FACP
2008 - Karl Straub, MD, FACP
2007 - Stephen Woodruff, MD, FACP
2006 - Joseph Matthew Beck, II, MD, FACP
2005 - Joseph Knight Bissett, MD, FACP
2004 - Rebecca Edge Martin, MD, ACP Member
2003 - Jerry Stewart, MD, FACP
2002 - James Ross Phillips, MD, FACP
2001 - Ray H. Hall, Jr, MD, FACP
2000 - John C. Schultz, MD, FACP
1999 - Raymond P. Miller, Sr., MD, FACP
1998 - Taylor A. Prewitt, MD, FACP
1997 - Allan S. Pirnique, MD, FACP
1996 - Robert W. Bradsher, Jr., MD, FACP
1995 - Donald L. Miller, MD, ACP Member
1994 - Louis Lee Sanders, MD, FACP
1993 - H. Van Smith, MD, FACP
1992 - John William Nuckolls, MD, FACP
1991 - Eleanor A. Lipsmeyer, MD, FACP
1990 - Eugene J. Towbin, MD, FACP
1989 - Arthur Haut, MD, FACP
1988 - Marvin L. Murphy, MD, FACP
1987 - James S. Adamson, MD, FACP
1986 - Audrey J. Thompson, MD, ACP Member
1985 - James E. Doherty, MD, FACP
1984 - Larkin M. Wilson, MD, ACP Member


Winners prior to 1984, according to 1984 Governors' Newletter, specific dates unknown:

Robert S. Abernathy, FACP
Joe B. Hall, FACP
Joseph H. Bates, FACP
S. William Ross, FACP
George L. Ackerman, FACP
Richard V. Ebert, MACP
William W. Stead, FACP
Jerome S. Levy, FACP