International Fellowship Exchange Program Awardees

ACP's 2018-2019 International Fellowship Exchange Program (IFEP) provided the opportunity to five early to mid-career physicians from outside the United States and Canada to gain expertise in a focused area relating to the prevention, diagnosis, and/or management of a clinical problem affecting Internal Medicine and the subspecialties. Through observation, mentorship, and study of work of senior faculty physicians, fellows were funded to acquire knowledge, experience, and skills that they can apply, utilize, and disseminate to colleagues upon return to their home country. Fellowships were observational and lasted approximately four weeks.

The 2018-2019 IFEP Awardees were:

Mikio Hayashi, MD, FACP - Japan
Interest/Focus: Medical Education
Host: Thomas Jefferson University

Kimikawa Morgan-Channer, MD, FACP – Jamaica
Interest/Focus: Stroke/Vascular Neurology
Host: University of Miami Miller School of Medicine/Jackson Memorial Hospital

Ebele Nwako, MBBS - Nigeria
Interest/Focus: Cardiovascular Diseases in Women
Host: Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Kessanee Romphothong, MD - Thailand
Interest/Focus: Endocrinology
Host: Joslin Diabetes Center

Paula Andrea Ruiz Talero, MD - Colombia
Interest/Focus: Anticoagulation and Thrombosis
Host: University of California, Los Angeles

Applications are now being accepted for the 2019-2020 program. Information can be found on ACP's website.

Awardees for 2018-2019 attended the ACP Internal Medicine Meeting 2019 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They are pictured below receiving a plaque at the International Reception.

From left: Kessanee Romphothong, MD, (Thailand), Kimikawa Morgan-Channer, MD, FACP (Jamaica), Paula Andrea Ruiz Talero, MD (Colombia), ACP Immediate Past President Ana María Lopez, MD, FACP, ACP Immediate Past Chair, Board of Regents Andrew Dunn, MD, FACP, Mikio Hayashi, MD, FACP (Japan), and Ebele Nwako, MBBS (Nigeria).

Back to the May 2019 issue of ACP International