You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

About the Chapter


Edwin A. Alicea, MD, FACP

Dr. Alicea serves as the official representative of the College for the Puerto Rico Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Alicea, read his bio.

Welcome Letter | Past Governors


Dr. J. J. Gutierrez-Nunez selected for advancement to Mastership

Dr. Gutierrez-Nunez was officially recognized with ACP Mastership during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Masterships are awarded because of “personal character, positions of honor, contributions towards furthering the purposes of the ACP, eminence in practice or in medical research, or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine.” Dr. Gutierrez-Nunez is Associate Professor of Medicine of three of the four schools of medicine in Puerto Rico: University of PR, Universidad Central del Caribe and San Juan Bautista. He has been extensively recognized as an outstanding clinician and teacher, he has received numerous clinician and teaching awards from different institutions, including the Air Force Physicians ACP Chapter Laureate Award in 2005.

Dr. Milton Carrero receives the 2021 Chapter Laureate Award

For his achievements, the Puerto Rico Chapter of the American College of Physicians selected Dr. Milton Carrero as the Chapter Laureate Awardee for 2021. A Mayagüezan with a life of service to his community, Dr. Carrero has promoted excellence in the practice of Internal Medicine through his dedication to teaching, his leadership as a program director, his involvement in professional organizations and institutions, and his role modeling as a humanistic and compassionate physician.The Laureate Award honors Fellows and Masters of the College who have demonstrated an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, or research and service to their community, their Chapter, and the American College of Physicians.

Award Archives

Chapter Awardees | Chapter Awards

Member News

Aidaliz Llorens, MD

Congratulations to Aidaliz Llorens, MD, who received an award at the 2021 ACP National Abstract Competition. She was a winner in the Resident/Fellow Clinical Vignette ePoster category for her presentation, "Severe Intractable Headache: COVID-19 Presentation in a 23-Year-Old."

More Member News

Connect with us