Idaho Governor's Newsletter February 2024

Idaho Chapter Banner

Lisa S. Inouye, MD, MPH, FACP, ACP Governor

Lisa S. Inouye, MD, MPH, FACP, ACP Governor


47th Annual 2024 Hindson/ACP Winter Conference

An incoming snowstorm caused a last-minute venue change from McCall to Boise. However, we still had a successful (and snowy) conference. The Hindson/ACP Winter Conference was held January 11 – 14th in Boise. There was also a virtual option, allowing virtual attendees and speakers!



Chapter Awards

The Laureate Award honors those Fellows and Masters of the College who have demonstrated by their example and conduct, an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, or research and in service to their community, their Chapter, and the American College of Physicians.

We would like to congratulate Laurie Ashby, MD, FACP for receiving the 2024 Idaho Chapter Laureate Award. Laurie has also been our Awards Committee head for six years though she had no idea we were considering her for this award.


The Distinguished Internist Award recognizes a College Member, Fellow or Master who has provided exceptional contributions to the science and art of Internal Medicine by demonstrating excellence and compassion in patient care, professionalism, humanistic values, and a lifelong dedication to teaching and learning.

Congratulations to our Distinguished Internist Award winner – Jason Bronner, MD


We have two Distinguished Teaching Awards again this year. This award is given to a College Member or Fellow who has demonstrated outstanding mentorship of students, residents, or colleagues as demonstrated by a sustained commitment to providing personal and professional guidance to other health care professionals.

Congratulations to our two award winners.


Dr. Roger Turcotte


Dr. Nathan Kellis



Congratulations to our Chapter Abstract Winners

Oral Clinical Vignette

Cameron Skaggs, MS3 for his presentation on A Tale of Two Siblings with Recurrent Abdominal Pain

Resident Clinical Vignette

Darion Heald, MD, and Tyler Pew, DO, MBA for A Pain in the Neck: When Pseudogout Goes Cervical

Resident Quality Improvement-Patient Safety

Ryan Day, MD for Implementation of Reusable Medical Gowns in the Community Living Center at the Boise VA

Recently, our chapter was in the top 10 for recapturing unpaid members! We received two stipends from National ACP to offset costs so that two Early Career Physicians could attend Internal Medicine in April this year. There is a CURRENT unpaid member capture going again, if you haven't paid your dues, please do it now!



Welcome the new Council of Students and Council of Residents/Fellows!

We now have a Council of Students with representatives from University of Washington and Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Council of Students:

Reagan Badger, UW

Kelton Kearsley, UW

Daniel Rotante, ICOM

We now have a Council of Residents & Fellows with representatives from the University of Washington Boise and from Eastern Idaho Regional Medical Center:

Council of Residents/Fellows:

Willman Casey, DO, EIRMC

Austin Dopp, MD UW Boise

Andy Fisher, DO, EIRMC

Andrew Nguyen, MD, UW Boise



Congratulations to our New Fellow

Steven Pontickio, MD, FACP - Boise

Welcome our New Members

Cameron Allen – Boise Bryce Arnold – Idaho Falls Chris Blaine – Idaho Falls
Lyndon Box – Boise Pramod Chavali – Boise Samantha Eteve – Meridian
Jonathan Gienger – Couer D Alene Jason Harmon – Boise Lisa Hunt – Boise
Adam Kappmeyer – Moscow Dale Keller – Ammon Nathan Kellis – Garden City
Irina Kratman – Boise Braden Lawrence – Boise Beau Liljenquist – Idaho Falls
Victor Liu – Idaho Falls Timothy McCabe – Moscow Helya Peyman – Boise
Kevin Prier – Idaho Falls Tyler Reinking – Ketchum James Reneau – Boise
Olivia Roehling – Boise Trevor Smith – Boise Rachael Stiener – Boise
Michael Williams – Idaho Falls    

Welcome our New Affiliates & Physician Affiliates

Emily Looze – Boise

Paige Moore – Eagle



Welcome our New Resident/Fellow Members

Meagan Boll – Moscow

Mary Giest – Boise

Mariah Lapinski – Boise

Tanner McGuire – Meridian

Maryam Sadeghi – Idaho Falls



Welcome our New Medical Student Members

Zachary Battaglia, Audrey Dingel, John Downing, Isabella Eck, Ekaterina Ferney, Connor Guthrie, Brianna Hartley, Tanner Holyoak, John Kiehl, Jr., Cody Massie, Isaac Meldrum, Daniel Rotante, Brian Schindler, and Brett Villa



For Your Information:

ACP Fellowship

Are you interested in becoming a Fellow of the American College of Physicians? Fellowship in the College is an honor. Being an FACP® is a distinction earned from colleagues who recognize your accomplishments and achievements over and above the practice of medicine. The most important considerations for ACP Fellowship are excellence and contributions made to both medicine and to the broader community in which the internist lives and practices.

ACP Fellowship is primarily achieved through advancement from ACP Membership. Fellows are authorized to use the letters FACP (Fellow of the American College of Physicians) in connection with their professional activities for as long as their membership remains current. FACP is a federally registered service mark and is defined as providing recognition by way of an honorific. Fellows of the American College of Physicians have the right to vote, hold office, and sponsor applicants for Membership and Fellowship.

Am I Eligible?

If you can check all of these requirements ...

  • At least 3 years' experience post residency training
  • ACP member in good standing for 3 of the past 4 years
  • Initial Board certified in internal medicine or neurology
  • Active medical license in good standing (if in clinical practice)

... and can demonstrate activity in three of the four pillars of Fellowship

  1. Continuing Medical Education
  2. Community Service & Engagement (volunteer work, advocacy)
  3. Practice Improvement or Scholarly Activities (Practice/Quality Improvement projects, research)
  4. Teaching, Coaching, Mentorship, or Leadership (teaching not just residents/students, but other fields as well like PA/NP/pharmacy/other learners; leadership includes things like being on hospital committees as well as other leadership positions)

Visit for more information or to apply for ACP Fellowship.

Saying Goodbye

At the end of April, we will be saying goodbye to our Chapter Governor, Lisa Inouye and welcoming a new governor for our chapter. Under Lisa's leadership, we now have a Council of Students and a Council of Residents and Fellows. The Council of Students have already held two Subspecialist meetings gain knowledge of different specialties and subspecialties.

Lesleigh Box, MD, FACP will take the reins as governor in April. Lesleigh has served as Governor-Elect for the past year, so she will hit the ground running!