About the Chapter


Samuel J. Evans, MD, MS, FACP, FCCP

Dr. Evans serves as the official representative of the College for the Hawaii Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Evans, read his bio.

Welcome Letter | Past Governors | Governor-elect

Hawaii Chapter College Awards

Congratulations to our 2024 Abstract Competition winners!


First Place (Resident): Clarke Morihara - Ockham's Razon and Bayes Theorem at work, a Case Series: Analyzing the sensitivity and specificities of Brugada, aVR Verecki, and Basel algorithms in evaluation of Wide Complex Regular Tachycardias amongst a Multiracial population.
First Place (Student): Ayumi Sakamoto - FOXO3 Genotype Mitigates the Effect of Low Bioavailable Testosterone on Mortality: The Kuakini Honolulu Heart Program.

Second Place (Student): Sarah Bellatti - Findings from the First Systematic Survey of Surfer's Myelopathy Patients
Third Place (Student): Luke Taylor - Risk Factors Associated with One-Year Mortality After Osteoporotic Hip Fracture in Hawaii: Higher Mortality Risk Among Native Hawaiians and Other Pacific Islanders

Case Reports

Top Resident: Weiming Du - A case of Reversible Cerebral Vasoconstriction Syndrome (RCVS) on an eclamptic patient
Top Student: Keith Nakamatsu - Unmasking Graves’ Disease: A Paralysis Case in the Emergency Department
Top Fellow: Kathryn Choo Loy - Deprescribing of Potentially Inappropriate Medications (PIMs) Across Four Geriatric Care Settings

2023 Chapter Excellence Award

We are pleased to announce that our chapter is in receipt of the Gold Level of the 2023 Chapter Excellence Award! The award recognizes truly extraordinary chapters that surpass excellence in chapter management. We are in the company of 54 other outstanding chapters. In order to achieve the Gold Level of the Chapter Excellence Award, chapters must meet nineteen Bronze criteria, seventeen Silver criteria and multiple Gold level activities. Criteria include such activities as having a legislative action plan or agenda, holding a volunteerism/community service activity, holding multiple stand-alone meetings, having revenue sources outside of dues and meeting registration fees, implementing a strategic plan, implementing a formal recruitment and retention plan and measuring outcomes, conducting various activities for Medical Students, Residents and Early Career Physicians.

Chapter Excellence Award Gold

Award Archives

Past Award Winners | Hawaii Chapter College Awards

Connect with us