U.S. Navy Governor's Newsletter October 2022

U.S. Navy Chapter Banner

CDR Mark P Tschanz, DO, FACP, ACP Governor

CDR Mark P Tschanz, DO, FACP, ACP Governor


Governor's Welcome

Welcome to the Fall 2022 Newsletter and conference summary! It was wonderful to see so many of you at our Tri-service meeting in San Antonio in September. The virtual meetings have been great over the past 2 years, but meeting in-person was so much better. I am continually amazed by the scholarship from our residents and early career physicians, and the efforts from so many stellar physicians from all the branches to improve military medicine and military Internal Medicine – all with the mission to improve the health of our patients.

A huge thank you to the planning committee, especially Dr. Mike Dore (master planner), LCDR Matt Russell (Awards Subcommittee), and CDR Debra Buckland-Coffey (Specialty Leader) for their contributions to the meeting. A special thank you to CAPT Michael McGinnis for his wisdom and motivation as the guest speaker at the awards dinner.

If you attended the meeting, please be sure to claim CME and MOC! The CME link is located in the meeting hub. Please make sure you log in first, and then you can complete your CME claim. Please let me know via email if you have any feedback from the meeting or have ideas for how we can make the meeting better next year!

The Navy Chapter was again awarded the ACP Chapter Excellence Silver Award! This is the second year the Chapter has received the Silver-level award, and with the award, the chapter received a $3000 bonus from the National office to apply to future programing. This is a result of your involvement and engagement in the chapter.

Most importantly, a HUGE congratulations to the Navy Chapter Laureate Award winners. The Chapter awarded three of the very best from our community with this prestigious award this year. Please see the biographies at the end of this newsletter, and please reach out and congratulate the winners! The newest Navy Chapter Laureates are CAPT Michael McGinnis, CAPT Brian Bowes, and CAPT Timothy Quast. You may also check out the Chapter Website to see the list of prior recipients – it is the very best of Navy Medicine! Congratulations!

Very Respectfully,


CDR Mark P. Tschanz DO, MACM, FACP

Governor, Navy Chapter, American College of Physicians.



2022 Tri-Service Meeting


Bravo zulu to the planning committee for the 2022 Tri-service meeting

Thank you to all planners who spent countless hours coordinating the meeting. In addition, thank you to the break-out room coordinators, speakers, and judges. This meeting would not happen with MANY volunteer hours. The planning committee:

Michael Dore, U.S. Navy Chapter Chair

Sarah Schall U.S. Air Force Chair

Adam Burkett, U.S. Army Chair

Julie Lortz, CME Lead

John Hunninghake, Break-out session lead

Cyrus Askin, Doctors' Dilemma Co-Lead

Mary Ford, Doctors' Dilemma Co-Lead

Carlie Cerne, Service Project Lead

Savannah McCaskill, Medical Student Event Lead

Cecily Ober, Awards Dinner Lead

It is already time to start planning the conference for next year! Please let me know if you are interested in becoming involved. We certainly need a meeting chair soon, but will also need help on many tasks big and small. The location and date of the meeting will be announced in the next few months.



Chapter Awards:

2022 Laureate Awards: The Laureate Award honors those Fellows and Masters of the College who have demonstrated, by their example and conduct, an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, and research, and service to their community, their chapter, and the ACP.

- CAPT Michael McGinnis

- CAPT Brian Bowes

- CAPT Timothy Quast


- VADM Nathan Young Leader Award: LCDR Sara Robinson, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

Awarded to lieutenant or lieutenant commander, board certified internist who has displayed significant leadership helping Navy Internal Medicine execute the mission through innovation, perseverance, creativity, and compassion. The awardee will have guided or supported their command through challenging times and/or to dramatic success.

- Sparks Award: LCDR Emily Croom, Naval Hospital Okinawa

Awarded to a staff Internist at a non-Internal Medicine teaching hospital or other Navy Military Treatment Facility (MTF) in recognition of outstanding achievement including, but not limited to the following attributes: Teaching prowess and academic acumen, displaying exemplary characteristics of care and concern for individual patients, professionalism, and serving as a role model and mentor.

- Master Teacher Award: CAPT (ret) Joel Lees, Naval Medical Center San Diego

Awarded to an Internal Medicine faculty member with at least 7 years' experience as a staff Internist on active duty, and with at least 3 years' experience as an Internal Medicine faculty member in conjunction with an Internal Medicine Residency training program. This award recognizes sustained outstanding achievement including, but not limited to the following attributes: teaching prowess and academic acumen, displaying exemplary characteristics of care and concern for individual patients, professionalism, and serving as a role model and mentor

- CAPT Patricia V. Pepper Female Leadership Award: CAPT Jennifer Curry

Awarded annually to an outstanding female Internist commander or above who has proven herself to be an exceptional leader across Navy Internal Medicine as a mentor and educator for residents, medical students, and junior attending physicians and above all a compassionate and dedicated advocate for her patients.

Regional Teaching Awards:

Walter Reed National Military Medical Center:

Resident Teacher of the Year: LT Greg Blake

Faculty Teacher of the Year: LCDR Sara Robinson

Naval Medical Center Portsmouth:

Resident Teacher of the Year: LT Colleen Boyle

Faculty Teacher of the Year: LT Michael Roth

Naval Medical Center San Diego:

Resident Teacher of the Year: LT Jaime Stull

Faculty Teacher of the Year: LCDR Joyce Hall

Abstract Competition Winners:

The podium winners for the clinical vignette, QI, and research categories will be entered in the national competition in the Spring.

Resident/Fellow Clinical Vignette Podium Presentation: LT Dawn Quigley - NMCSD

Resident/Fellow QI: LT Allyson Burkhart - NMCP

Resident Basic Research Podium Presentation: LT Daniel Shields, NMCP

Resident Clinical Research Podium Presentation: LCDR Peter Beale - NMCP

Resident High Value Care Podium Presentation: LT Ashley Otto - NMCP

Doctor's Dilemma: Congratulations to the NMCSD Team for winning the Chapter competition, and coming in a close 2nd place in the 3nd Annual Tri-Service Championship!

The 2022 winning team from Naval Medical Center San Diego is LT Jonathan Cho, LT Joseph Boone, and LT Ryan Choi. They will represent the Navy Chapter at the National Meeting in the spring – traveling all the way to…San Diego! Good luck and well done!


Congratulations to all the local and chapter award winners! Many Navy Chapter members are doing incredible work around the globe! The associate presentations were outstanding across the board. Bravo Zulu to all who submitted and presented their scholarly work at the meeting!