You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

About the Chapter


Martha Gray, MD, FACP

Dr. Gray serves as the official representative of the College for the Michigan Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level.

Welcome Letter | Bio | Past Governors | Bylaws


Dr. Joseph Kolars selected for advancement to Mastership

Dr. Kolars was officially recognized with ACP Mastership during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Masterships are awarded because of “personal character, positions of honor, contributions towards furthering the purposes of the ACP, eminence in practice or in medical research, or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine." Dr. Kolars is the Josiah Macy, Jr., Professor of Health Sciences Education and Senior Associate Dean for Education and Global Initiatives at the University of Michigan Medical School. Global health and strengthening education systems in low-resource settings has been a major focus of his career. In addition to serving on the Fogarty International Center Advisory Council, he has been extensively involved with the NIH Medical Education Partnership Initiative.

Samuel Silver, MD, PhD, MACP, FRCP receives Lifetime Achievement Award from the Michigan Society of Hematology/Oncology

Congratulations to Dr. Silver, who was honored in a virtual ceremony earlier this year. He has been involved with the Michigan Society of Hematology/Oncology for many years, currently as board member and previously as president. Dr. Silver is Assistant Dean for Research and a professor of Internal Medicine at the University of Michigan Medical School. His area of focus is malignant and benign hematology and he is also a leading scholar on clinical reimbursement and coding. He has received awards from additional organizations including the American Medical Association’s (AMA) Gordon Award and the Statesman Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology. Dr. Silver has also been very involved at ACP, including serving as our Chair of the Chapter Awards Committee.

Award Archives

Chapter Awardees | Chapter Awards

Member News

Louis D. Saravolatz, MD, MACP

Congratulations to two chapter members for being selected for 2020-21 ACP National Awards.

Harriet P. Dustan Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine 2020-2021 Recipient - John M. Carethers, MD, MACP

Alvan R. Feinstein Memorial Award 2020-2021 Recipient - Louis D. Saravolatz, MD, MACP

More Member News

Connect with us