You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Learn More About MOC

Important details to make sure you fulfill ABIM MOC requirements.

ABIM Requirements at a Glance

1. Earn MOC Points:

  • Complete at least one MOC-approved activity every two years
  • Earn 100 MOC points every 5 years
Additional Notes:
  • You can earn all points in Medical Knowledge. Practice Assessment and Patient Safety points still count but are not required through 2018.
  • When you take either the "Knowledge Check-In" or the Long Format Exam (see below) you will earn 20 MOC points. This means that once you take an exam, you only need to earn 80 MOC points through other activities.
  • Subspecialists: Keep in mind that the same MOC points can apply to each certificate you renew, so you only need 100 points no matter how many certificates you renew.

2. Choose Your Exam Preference:

  • Two-year "Knowledge Check-In": Take a lower-stakes exam at home, in your office, or at a test center every two years, beginning the year your certificate expires.
  • 10-year Long Format Exam: Take the traditional long-format exam at a test center every 10 years, beginning in the year your certificate expires.
Additional Notes:
  • Both options will be open book and will cover the full breadth of internal medicine.
  • Knowledge Check-Ins will be offered 4-6 times per year. You will have 3 hours to complete each exam. They will be recorded and spot checked, and immediate feedback will be provided.
  • ACP strongly advises that you complete the technical system check offered by the ABIM prior to taking the Knowledge Check-In in order to ensure that any necessary system adjustments are completed prior to your exam date.
  • Long Format Exams will be offered 2 times per year. They will require a full day of testing with a live proctor and will also be recorded. Feedback will be sent at a later date.
  • If you fail one Two-Year Knowledge Check-In but pass the next one two years later, you can remain in the two-year pathway. Only if you do not pass two check-ins in a row will you have to take the one-year exam. However, 2018 will be considered a pilot year, so if you do not pass the 2018 check-in, it will not count as a failure.

Other details pertaining to the Maintenance of Certification (MOC) process for board-certified internal medicine specialists and subspecialists are available at the ABIM website.

ACP Advocates to Improve MOC Process

ACP continues to working aggressively to address the concerns about ABIM's MOC program expressed by our members and the internal medicine community. Based on the accountability principles and the feedback from ACP members, advocacy efforts with ABIM have focused on the need for MOC to be more relevant, more valuable, less burdensome, and less time-consuming.

Read more