‘Prescription (Rx) for Produce’ wins ACP Innovation Challenge grand prize at Internal Medicine Meeting 2019

ACP Innovation Challenge is part of ACP's support of innovation in medicine

Philadelphia, April 13, 2019 – Jonathan Dau, MD, won the ACP Innovation Challenge grand prize today during Internal Medicine Meeting 2019, the annual scientific meeting of the American College of Physicians (ACP). ACP awarded $20,000 to Dr. Dau, an internal medicine resident at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, for “Prescription (Rx) for Produce: A Grassroots Medicine, Farm‐to‐Hospital Initiative.”

Two audience choice prizes were awarded $5,000 each:

  • David J. Savage, MD, PhD, Internal Medicine Resident, Cleveland Clinic, for “A Tool for Seamless Transfer of the Electronic Medical Record”
  • Jesse Wang, MD/PhD Candidate, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, for “The Digital Scribe”

ACP Innovation Challenge 2019: Fostering Partnerships Between Physicians and Patients is the latest in ACP’s annual competition, which showcases the best and brightest ideas from practicing physicians, fellows, residents, and medical students that have the potential to transform the practice of internal medicine.

The ACP Innovation Challenge is part of ACP’s support of innovation in medicine and includes the ACP Startup Advisors Network, a free service connecting digital health entrepreneurs to experienced ACP members who can offer real-world input on product development.

About the American College of Physicians
The American College of Physicians is the largest medical specialty organization in the United States with members in more than 145 countries worldwide. ACP membership includes 154,000 internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students. Internal medicine physicians are specialists who apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness. Follow ACP on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.