American College of Physicians Announces Winners of 2015 Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarships

Philadelphia, April 29, 2015 -- The American College of Physicians (ACP) will honor six chief residents as winners of the Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarships at Internal Medicine Meeting 2015, the annual scientific meeting of the American College of Physicians. The winners will be onsite in Boston to help teach popular clinical skills workshops at the Herbert S. Waxman Clinical Skills Center under the guidance and mentorship of expert faculty at the meeting.

The Waxman Center at the Internal Medicine meeting provides hands-on, small group learning opportunities in the areas of communication, physical diagnosis, and hospital and office-based procedural skills. Workshops include ultrasound-guided invasive procedures (central line, paracentesis, and lumbar puncture), arthrocentesis and bursal injections, skin biopsy and cryosurgery, and abscess incision and drainage.

Winners of this year's National Resident Abstract Competition include:

  • Christopher Aakre, MD: a chief resident at the Mayo Clinic.
  • Taylor Goot, MD: a chief resident and faculty at the University of New Mexico Health Science Center and the New Mexico Veterans Affairs Health Care System.
  • Matthew Kelleher, MD: a chief resident at the University of Cincinnati and Cincinnati Children's Hospital.
  • Dina Khateeb, DO: a chief resident for the Rutgers University-New Jersey Medical School (NJMS) Internal Medicine program.
  • Valerie Vaughn, MD: a chief resident at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor.
  • Jason Williams, MD: a chief resident and clinical instructor at the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) School of Medicine.

About the American College of Physicians

The American College of Physicians is the largest medical specialty organization and the second-largest physician group in the United States. ACP members include 141,000 internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students. Internal medicine physicians are specialists who apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness. Follow ACP on Twitter and Facebook.