ACP Honors Outstanding Contributions to Medicine in Annual Convocation Ceremony

The American College of Physicians (ACP) will honor outstanding contributions to medicine at its annual convocation ceremony on Thursday, May 5, at 6:00 p.m. at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C. during Internal Medicine Meeting 2016.

ACP President Wayne J. Riley, MD, MPH, MBA, MACP, will preside over the ceremony, during which 21 awardees, 54 new Masters of ACP (MACP) (list below), and more than 400 new Fellows of ACP (FACP) will be honored.

ACP annually recognizes varied accomplishments in the world of medicine. The awardees for 2016 are:

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine: Allan H. Goroll, MD, MACP; Weston, Massachusetts

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine: Susan C. Stewart, MD, FACP; Brooklyn, New York

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians: Jeffery P. Harris, MD, MACP; Millwood, Virginia

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine: A. John Barrett, MD; Silver Spring, Maryland

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award: Joyce P. Doyle, MD, MACP; Atlanta, Georgia, and William L. Morgan Jr., MD, MACP; Rochester, New York

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #1 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation: Sonya Shin, MD; Gallup, New Mexico

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #2 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation: IMANA Medical Relief; Lombard, Illinois

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients: Carole E. Horn, MD; Washington, District of Columbia

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Outstanding Contributions to Humanism in Medicine: Gregory O'Dea, PhD; Chattanooga, Tennessee

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award: Robert S. Wilkinson Jr., MD, MACP; Washington, District of Columbia

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service: Rep. Michael Burgess; Washington, District of Columbia

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service: Apostolos P. Dallas, MD, FACP; Roanoke, Virginia

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians: Baligh Yehia, MD, FACP; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator: April S. Fitzgerald, MD, FACP; Great Falls, Virginia

W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity and Access to Care: James J. O'Connell, MD, FACP; Boston, Massachusetts

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes: Phillip Gorden, MD, FACP; Bethesda, Maryland

Arnold P. Gold Foundation ACP Award for Medical Humanism: Alan W. Stone, MD, FACP; Washington, District of Columbia

ACP Award for Distinguished Contributions to Behavioral Medicine: Michael J. Baime, MD; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

ACP Award for Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows: Mukta Panda, MD, FACP; Chattanooga, Tennessee

ACP Award for a Distinguished Contribution by ACP National or Chapter Staff: Jack Ginsburg; Washington, District of Columbia

New Masters of the American College of Physicians for 2015-16

Note: In the following listing, the medical degree and MACP have been omitted to save space.

Harry J. Acquatella; Caracas, Venezuela
Donald C. Balfour III; San Diego, California
Michael S. Barr: Ellicott City, Maryland
Lynn A. Bentson; Albany, Oregon
William N. Boulware; Florence, South Carolina
James D. Brosseau; Grand Forks, North Dakota
Steven L. Carpenter; Savannah, Georgia
C. Glenn Cobbs; Birmingham, Alabama
Michele G. Cyr; Providence, Rhode Island
Richard A. Dart; Marshfield, Wisconsin
Richard D. deShazo; Jackson, Mississippi
Joyce P. Doyle; Atlanta, Georgia
David Michael Elnicki; Wexford, Pennsylvania
Thomas Fekete; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Rosemarie L. Fisher; Stamford, Connecticut
Mary Ann Forciea; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Shunichi Fukuhara; Sakyo-ku Kyoto, Japan
James L. Gajewski; Portland, Oregon
George Waldon Garriss III; Marietta, Georgia
Robert A. Gluckman; Beaverton, Oregon
Rosendo Gonzalez-Gomis; Panama, Panama
Donald W. Hatton; Lawrence, Kansas
Cyril M. Hetsko; Madison, Wisconsin
Gregory A. Hood; Lexington, Kentucky
Barry Z. Izenstein; Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Robert E. Jackson; Houston, Texas
J. Larry Jameson; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Lawrence P. Jennings; Mount Carmel, Illinois
Barry O. Kassen; Vancouver, Canada
Daniel B. Kimball Jr.; Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Timothy W. Lane; Greensboro, North Carolina
Mark E. Mayer; University Heights, Ohio
Graydon S. Meneilly; Vancouver, Canada
George W. Meyer; Fair Oaks, California
Lysbeth W. Miller; Austin, Texas
Garold O. Minns; Wichita, Kansas
V. Mohan; Chennai, India
Hasan A. M. Nazmul Ahasan; Dhaka, Bangladesh
J. Marc Overhage; Zionsville, Indiana
Anita Palepu; Vancouver, Canada
Jonathan Perlin; Nashville, Tennessee
Valerie J. Pronio-Stelluto; Cambridge, Massachusetts
David E. Sandvik; Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Henry Schneiderman; Hartford, Connecticut
Gary L. Schwartz; Rochester, Minnesota
Valerie E. Stone; Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts
Daniel P. Sulmasy; Chicago, Illinois
Ellen M. Tedaldi; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Howard E. Voss; Stuart, Florida
Joseph T. Wayne; Albany, New York
Steven E. Weinberger; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Joseph J. Weiss; Livonia, Michigan
James O. Woolliscroft; Ann Arbor, Michigan
Lisa L. Zacher; Orlando, Florida

About Mastership in the American College of Physicians

Levels of membership in ACP are Medical Student Member, Associate, Member, Fellow (FACP), Honorary Fellow, and Master (MACP). FACPs, or Fellows of the American College of Physicians, have been recommended by their peers, endorsed by their local ACP chapter Governor, and reviewed by a national credentials subcommittee.

Throughout the year, highly distinguished Fellows are nominated for Mastership by ACP members and others familiar with their backgrounds. Each fall, a select group of these Fellows are chosen from among the nominees for Mastership by the ACP Awards Committee and approved by the ACP Board of Regents. The title of Master of the American College of Physicians (MACP) is bestowed upon the recipient.

Masters must be highly accomplished individuals. Evidence of their achievements can come from many types of endeavors and honors, such as research, education, health care initiatives, volunteerism, and administrative positions. The Master must be distinguished by the excellence and significance of his or her contributions to the science and art of medicine.

For Mastership, ACP involvement is expected, with rare exceptions. This may include, for example, service to the College in an official capacity, participation in chapter activities, and involvement in the development of College products and educational programs. Masters are authorized to use the letters MACP in connection with their professional activities.