ACP celebrates winners of 2024 Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarships

BOSTON April 15, 2024 – The American College of Physicians (ACP) is honoring six chief residents as winners of the Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarships at Internal Medicine Meeting 2024, ACP’s annual scientific meeting taking place April 18-20 at the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center.

The 2024 chief resident awardees are:

  • Shilpa Sridhar, M.D., Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center in Columbus, OH
  • Timothy Yang, M.D., Kaiser Permanente Oakland Medical Center in Oakland CA
  • William Hirschfeld, MD, MPH, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, in Bethesda MD
  • Lauren Sweet, MD San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium in San Antonio TX
  • Andikan Udoh, MD Baton Rouge General Medical Center in Baton Rouge, LA
  • Subhan Tabba, MD, MBA Texas Health Presbyterian Dallas Hospital in Dallas, TX

ACP established the Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarships in 2014 to recognize outstanding chief medical residents and to provide them an opportunity to assist teaching popular workshops under the guidance and mentorship of expert faculty in the Clinical Skills Center at ACP’s annual scientific meeting.

ACP’s Clinical Skills Center is a collection of educational activities that provides hand-on learning under the guidance of expert faculty, interactive self-study, and other events and exhibits designed to improve physician well-being and professional satisfaction.


About the American College of Physicians 
The American College of Physicians is the largest medical specialty organization in the United States with members in more than 145 countries worldwide. ACP membership includes 161,000 internal medicine physicians, related subspecialists, and medical students. Internal medicine physicians are specialists who apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness. Follow ACP on X, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn.

Media Contact: Andrew Hachadorian,, (215) 351-2514