ACP Celebrates Winners of 2016 Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarships

Philadelphia, May 3, 2016 -- The American College of Physicians (ACP) will honor six chief residents as winners of the Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarships at Internal Medicine Meeting 2016, the annual scientific meeting of the American College of Physicians. The 2016 chief resident awardees are:

  • Nathan M. Anderson, MD, University of Nebraska Medical Center
  • Brian L. Block, MD, New York-Presbyterian Hospital, Columbia University
  • Ryan Buckley, MD, Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center/ The Medical University of South Carolina
  • Zorawar Noor, MD, University of California, Irvine
  • Victoria Fernandes Sullivan, MD, Madigan Army Medical Center
  • Dorothy Thomas, MD, MSc, University of Saskatchewan

Herbert S. Waxman Chief Resident Teaching Scholarships were established in 2014 to recognize outstanding chief medical residents and to provide them an opportunity to help teach popular clinical skills workshops under the guidance and mentorship of expert faculty at ACP’s annual scientific meeting.

The Herbert S. Waxman Clinical Skills Center is a collection of activities offering physicians hands-on learning and simulation models focusing on office-based procedures, examination skills, and assessment and interpretation skills.

About the American College of Physicians

The American College of Physicians is the largest medical specialty organization and the second-largest physician group in the United States. ACP members include 143,000 internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students. Internal medicine physicians are specialists who apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness. Follow ACP on Twitter and Facebook.