ACP Announces Winners of National Resident Abstract Competition

Philadelphia, May 2, 2016 -- The American College of Physicians (ACP) will honor 20 residents as winners of the National Resident Abstract Competition at Internal Medicine Meeting 2016, the annual scientific meeting of the American College of Physicians. The winners will be onsite in Washington, D.C. to present their winning abstracts on May 6, 2016.

Winners of the National Abstract Competition are chosen for an original abstract in one of five categories; basic research, clinical research, quality improvement-patient safety, high value cost conscious care, and clinical vignette.

Winners of this year’s National Resident Abstract Competition include:

  • Tamara Ashvetiya, MD: an intern at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. 
  • Christian Castaneda, MD: a resident at New York-Presbyterian/Queens. 
  • Manisha Chandar, MD: a third-year resident at the University of Chicago (NorthShore) program. 
  • Maya Estephan, MD: a PGY 5 Rheumatology Fellow at the University of Kansas Medical Center.
  • Bhaskar Ganguly, MD: currently working in projects which aid in the healthcare of the homeless and uninsured as well as healthcare in border areas.
  • Lakshmi Gollapudi, MD: an internal medicine resident at the New York Medical College- Westchester Medical Center.
  • Inga Harbuz-Miller, MD: a third-year internal medicine resident at Morristown Medical Center.
  • Hoda Ilias, MD: currently a first-year medical resident at Fairfield Medical Center.
  • Natasha Jain, MD: a second-year internal medicine resident at Georgetown Washington Hospital Center. 
  • Sonam Kiwalkar, MD: currently finishing her residency in internal medicine at the Rochester General Hospital.
  • Kevin Lee, MD: a second-year internal medicine resident at the Jewish Hospital in Cincinnati, Ohio.
  • Patrick Moon, MD: a second-year medical resident in the National Capital Consortium program at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center.
  • Adills Moosa, MD: currently pursuing fellowship opportunities in rheumatology, gastroenterology, or nephrology.
  • Erin M. Noren, MD: a second-year resident in internal medicine at UCLA.
  • Gargi Patel, MD: a second-year resident at Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital.
  • Chan Yeu Pu, MD: a second-year internist at John H. Stroger Hospital.
  • Susan Seago, MD: a second-year resident at Baylor Scott & White Memorial Hospital.
  • Benjamin Silverman, MD: a fourth-year resident completing an internal medicine/pediatrics residency at Christiana Care Health System/A.I. duPont Hospital for Children.
  • Kai Tey, MD: finished a residency in University of Arizona College of Medicine, interested in pursuing a career in hepatology.
  • Toni Anne de Venecia, MD: a third-year internal medicine resident at Einstein Medical Center.

About the American College of Physicians
The American College of Physicians is the largest medical specialty organization and the second-largest physician group in the United States. ACP members include 143,000 internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students. Internal medicine physicians are specialists who apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness. Follow ACP on Twitter and Facebook.