About the Chapter

Texas Chapters

The Texas Chapter of the American College of Physicians (TXACP) represents more than 8,000 physicians, residents, medical student, and affiliate members. The chapter is comprised of two regions within the state and representative leadership from across Texas. The mission of the Texas Chapter of the ACP is to promote quality health care for all Texans by strengthening the practice of internal medicine.

The Texas Chapter of the American College of Physicians Services (TXACPS), supports and improves the practice of internal medicine and the scientific, economic, social and political aspects of medicine in order to secure and maintain the best patient care and the highest standards of medical practice. Members of the Texas Chapter are automatically granted membership in TXACP Services.

The Texas Chapter of the American College of Physicians Foundation (TXACPF), The Foundation represents the goals of the internal medicine physician profession; to foster knowledge and philanthropy that enhances quality health care in Texas. Contributions from the Foundation shall be for educational and philanthropic purposes that enhance health care in Texas through initiatives like the General Internal Medicine Statewide Preceptorship Program (GIMSPP) to encourage students to enter the field of internal medicine and to support residents in educational and scientific activities beneficial to Internal Medicine.

Meet the Board of Directors

  • President: Austin Metting, MD, FACP - Temple
  • President-elect: Chelsea Chang, MD, FACP - Rio Grande Valley
  • Immediate Past President: M. Tarek Naguib, MD, MBA, FACP - Amarillo
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Bryan Johnson, MD, FACP - Frisco

Chapter Governors



  • Rahulkumar Singh, MD, FACP – Frisco
  • Michelle Ho, MD, FACP - Dallas


  • Noah Stratton, MD, FACP – Temple
  • Neha Mittal, MD, FACP - Amarillo

Far Northwest: 

  • Mariela Lane, MD - El Paso
  • Roxanne Tyroch, MD, FACP – El Paso


  • Ebima Okundaye, MD, FASN, FACP - Rosharon
  • Lindsey Sonstein, MD, FACP – Galveston


  • Aliza Norwood, MD, FACP – Austin
  • Ronak Ghiya, MD, FACP - Round Rock

Director at Large: 

  • Martha Danhof, DO, FACP - Ft. Worth
  • Megan Newman, MD, FACP – Temple
  • Manasi Kekan, MD, MMM, FACP – Houston
  • ASM Islam, MD, FACP – Amarillo
  • Megan Berman, MD, FACP - Galveston

Resident Representatives:

  • Northwest: Lewis Woods, MD -Temple
  • Southeast: Layla Abdul Jabbar, MD - Galveston

Medical Student Representatives:

  • Liam Ung, TTUHSC - Lubbock

TXACPS Officers

  • President: Drew Payne, DO, FACP - Lubbock
  • President-elect: Scott Yates, MD, MBA, MS, MHA - Plano
  • Immediate Past President: A. Jimmy Widmer, MD, MBA, FACP -Temple
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Omar Bazzaz, MD, MHA, FACP - Amarillo

Welcome Letter from the Governors | Past Governors | Diversity Policy | Councils & Committees


2024 Chapter Award Nominations Open

Recognize an outstanding physician in Internal Medicine through the following chapter awards. Presentations take place November 16 at the Annual Meeting in Galveston:

  • Texas Chapter Laureate
  • Volunteerism & Community Service
  • Snyder/Chumley Advocate of the Year
  • Early Career Physician Leader
  • *New* Resilience Award

Nominate today: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/IMTXAwards2024

2023 Chapter Excellence Award

We are pleased to announce that our chapter is in receipt of the Gold Level of the 2023 Chapter Excellence Award! The award recognizes truly extraordinary chapters that surpass excellence in chapter management. We are in the company of 54 other outstanding chapters. In order to achieve the Gold Level of the Chapter Excellence Award, chapters must meet nineteen Bronze criteria, seventeen Silver criteria and multiple Gold level activities. Criteria include such activities as having a legislative action plan or agenda, holding a volunteerism/community service activity, holding multiple stand-alone meetings, having revenue sources outside of dues and meeting registration fees, implementing a strategic plan, implementing a formal recruitment and retention plan and measuring outcomes, conducting various activities for Medical Students, Residents and Early Career Physicians.

Chapter Excellence Award Gold

Award Archives

Texas Chapter Awards | Texas Chapter College Awards 

Connect with us