Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award - Frank M. Calia, MD, MACP

ACP member since 1997

Frank M. Calia, MD, MACP

Between 1979 and 2004, Frank M. Calia, MD, was honored by medical students with 24 teaching awards-- both Golden Apple and Teacher of the Year. He received Teacher of the Year from the Maryland Higher Education Council (representing all colleges and universities in Maryland) and Teacher of the Year by the University System of Maryland. In 2000, Dr. Calia received the AOA Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award from the AAMC. He was vice dean of the University of Maryland School of Medicine twice, and acting and interim chair of Medicine. From 2006 to 2010, Dr. Calia served as the Theodore E. Woodward M.D. Professor and Chair of Medicine. He served as acting chair of the Departments of Diagnostic Radiology, Ophthalmology and Radiation Oncology. Dr. Calia was Interim Chief Medical Officer at the University of Maryland Medical Center. He has contributed to 10 books and over 50 publications in refereed journals. He is a Diplomate of the ABIM and the ABIM in Infectious Diseases. Dr. Calia was elected to ACP Mastership in 2000.

This award, which was established by the Board of Regents on April 5, 1968, as the American College of Physicians Distinguished Teacher Award, was renamed for Dr. Desforges on January 27, 2007. It is bestowed upon a Fellow or Master of the College who has demonstrated the ennobling qualities of a great teacher as judged by the acclaim and accomplishments of former students who have been inspired and have achieved positions of leadership in the field of medical education, primarily as teachers.