Chapter Awardees

Chapter Laureate Award

The first Chapter Laureate Awards were given in 1989. The Laureate Award honors those members of the ACP in Nebraska who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education or research, and in service to their community and the ACP. Recipients of the award shall bear the title "Laureate of the Nebraska Chapter."

1989 Frederick F. Paustian, MACP
Henry J. Lehnhoff, FACP
1990 John D. Hartigan, FACP
Robert C. Rosenlof, MACP
1991 Robert L. Grissom, MACP
Bowen E. Taylor, FACP
1993 Robert R. Recker, MACP
1994 George O. Clifford, FACP
1995 Walter J. O'Donohue, FACP
1996 Arthur L. Weaver, FACP
1997 Laurel C. Preheim, FACP
1998 Rowen K. Zetterman, FACP
1999 John C. Sage, FACP
2000 Richard A. Hranac, FACP
2001 John J. Hoesing, FACP
2002 George W. Loomis, FACP
2003 Robert P. Heaney, FACP
2004 John J. Cannella, FACP
2005 James R. O'Dell, FACP
2006 Robert S. Wigton, FACP
2007 Stephen J. Lanspa, FACP
2008 Mark E. Rupp, FACP
2009 James O. Armitage, MD, FACP
2010 John J. Matoole, MD
2011 Lynell W. Klassen, MD, MACP
2011 Syed M. Mohiuddin, MD, FACP
2012 Thomas G. Tape, MD, FACP
2013 Marvin J Bittner, MD FACP
2014 Joann L. Derby-Porter, MD, FACP
2015 Devin Fox, MD FACP
2016 William A. Shiffermiller, MD, FACP
2017 Robert W Dunlay, MD FACP
2018 Richard J. Seitz, MD FACP
2021 Bruce Houghton, MD, FACP
2022 Debra J. Romberger, MD, FACP


Volunteerism and Community Service Award


The Volunteerism and Community Service Award was initiated to honor members of the Nebraska Chapter who have distinguished themselves in voluntary service in the area of medicine.

2002 Larry L. Brown, FACP
2003 Debra Romberger, FACP
2004 Harry J. Jenkins, Jr., MD
2005 Theresa A. Townley, MD
2006 Catherine M. Eberle, FACP
2007 Jerry Cade, MD
2008 Marvin J. Bittner, FACP
2009 Lee E. Morrow, MD
2010 John J. Cannella, MD, FACP
2011 Devin Fox, MD, FACP
2012 Joseph D. Lynch, MD
2013 Ronald L Asher, MD, FACP
2016 Sehr Haroon, MD

Mike Smith, MD

2021 Jennifer L. Brown, MD
2021 Isaac Berg, MD, FACP

LeeRoy Meyer Dedicated Teacher Award


The Mission of the American College of Physicians is to "enhance the quality and effectiveness of healthcare by fostering excellence and professionalism in the practice of medicine." Its many goals include "To establish and promote the highest clinical standard and ethical ideals" and "To be the foremost comprehensive education and information resource for all internists."

2003 LeeRoy E. Meyer, MD
2004 William M. Vosik, FACP
2005 J. Daniel Egan, MD
2006 Robert E. Ecklund, FACP
2007 John J. Matoole, MD
2008 Scott Menolascino, MD
2009 David V. O'Dell, MD, FACP
2010 J Scott Neumeister, MD, FACP
2011 Craig A. Piquette, MD, FACP
2012 Gerald Moore, MD
2013 Chad W Vokoun, MD FACP
2014 Jennifer R. Parker, MD, FACP
2015 Rachel A Bonnema, MD, FACP
2016 William L. Lyons, MD, FACP
2017 Troy J Plumb, MD FACP
2018 Jane F. Potter, MD AGSF FACP
2021 Ryan P. Mullane, DO
2022 Nathan Anderson, MD, FACP


Walter J. O'Donohue, Jr. Award


This award honors physicians who embody the example set by our late friend and colleague and ardent supporter of the Nebraska Chapter, Walter J. O'Donohue, Jr., MD, FACP, FACCP.

2003 J. Clayton Campbell, FACP, FACCP
2004 Joseph H. Sisson, MD
2005 Robert J. Anderson, FACP
2006 John A. Hurley, MD
2007 Robert W. Dunlay, FACP
2008 Debra J. Romberger, FACP
2009 Gary L. Gorby, MD
2010 Claire Hunter, MD, FACP
2012 Joann Porter, MD, FACP
2013 Peter Silberstein
2014 Khalid Bashir, MCCS, FACP
2015 Tammy O Wichman, MD
2016 Henry T. Lynch, MD, FACP
2017 Bruce L Houghton, MD FACP
2018 Dennis J. Esterbrooks, MD FACC FACP
2020 Martin J. Bittner, MD, FACP
2020 Renuga Vivekanandan, MD
2022 Joseph Nahas, MD

Early Career Physician Award

2013 Micah Beachy, DO, FACP
2014 Jason F. Shiffermiller, MD, FACP
2015 Carolyn M Manhart, MD, FACP
2016 Regan Taylor, MD, FACP
2017 Jason Lambrecht, MD
2018 Joel Armitage, MD FACP
2020 Lauren Nelson, MD, FACP
2021 Paul G. Millner, MD

Community Service Award

2015 Angela Hewlett, MD FACP
2015 Phillip Smith

Volunteer Faculty Award


John M Adams MD, FACP
2016 Mark D. Omar, MD, FACP
2017 Isaac J Berg, MD
2018 Chad Reade, MD

Woman Physician of the Year Award

This award recognizes and honors an ACP member as an outstanding woman physician with a distinguished career in areas of exceptional patient care, medical education and/or research.

2022 Tammy O. Wichman, MD, FACP

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award

Established April 1947, " a Master of the College for outstanding service to the College in an official capacity."

2015 Rowen K. Zetterman, MD, MACP


Advocacy Award

2013 Rich Seitz, MD, FACP


Hospitalist Award

2021 Tabatha Matthias, DO, FACP
2022 Bradley DeVrieze, MD  


Humanitarian Award

2021 Theresa Townley, MD


Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator

This award recognizes an ACP member who is an internal medicine interest group leader, clinical clerkship director, program director or faculty member who spends a significant amount of time teaching medical students.

2018 J. Scott Neumeister, MD FACP