About the Chapter


Katherine I. Harris, MD, FACP

Dr. Harris serves as the official representative of the College for the Iowa Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Harris, read her bio.

Welcome Letter | Advisory Council | Past Governors


Dr. Steven (“Steve”) Joyce awarded the prestigious Chapter Excellence/Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is a mark of honor and recognition of achievement for a senior physician who has been a faithful member of our chapter and who has made major contributions to the field of internal medicine in the state of Iowa. Dr. Joyce has served his patients, colleagues, and the Iowa ACP for many years.  He always has insightful and brilliant commentary on a wide range of topics in healthcare and beyond. He is witty, funny, and a genuinely amazing human being.  

Chapter Excellence Award

2023 Chapter Laureate Award

The Laureate award recognizes physicians in Iowa excelling in scholarship, teaching, innovation, and service. The two winners this year are Dr. Leatrice (“Lea”) Olson and Dr. Katherine (“Katie”) White. Dr. Olson has served the people of Iowa for over 39 years as a physician, educator, and residency director. Her patient care has been focused on patients who are often forgotten and marginalized. Dr. White has served her patients at the Veteran’s Administration and University of Iowa and has focused on education for many students and residents. Congratulations to Drs. Olson and White! 

Laureate Awardees

Award Archives

Chapter Awardees | Iowa Chapter College Awards

Connect with us